|Topic Review (Newest First)|
|07-18-2017 11:43 AM|
The Vegetarian Resource Group has a detailed website about veg and non-veg ingredients. If you would like information about the ingredients of a certain soda, you can look up those ingredients on this website.
|07-18-2017 08:42 AM|
I doubt anyone's confused about weather it's healthy or not
I can't look things up now buy most are made with corn syrup, HFCS, which are vegan, and the ones made with sugar that are listed as kosher would be. There was controversy about Fanta using isinglass (fish bladder) to filter but I don't know
|07-18-2017 07:26 AM|
Sorry if I have said this already... drink soda water/carbonated water and add whatever fruit juices or agave or nothing at all.... we love it and don't drink anything but the low sodium version, anything but plain water or coffee that is.
(and some wine)
|07-18-2017 07:06 AM|
Could somebody post some information on this topic - information that is substantiated by links to reputable sources? It seems like this thread has become a guessing game.
|07-18-2017 07:02 AM|
Organic sugar, Raw sugar, Beet sugar --all these are always vegan.
Can't look up the link now but you can find the companies that are beet sugar- it's not always on package.
I have Pioneer Sugar at home, it's from beets
|07-17-2017 04:01 PM|
|sandwich447||Uhh... I believe Pepsi is vegan, but Coca-Cola is rather nasty in their production. They test their products on animals such as rabbits, mice, and even llamas!!|
|07-17-2017 03:41 PM|
|Bobneighbus1112#||Yea You can drink all the soda, sugar come from plants|
|04-13-2017 09:53 PM|
The sugar thing doesn't apply to Australia. CSR doesn't use bone char to filter it's sugar it uses activated charcoal so any soft drink (soda) made here doesn't have that problem. Coke sold in Australia is made in Australia and Pepsi and Schweppes. Schweppes makes Pepsi in Aus)
|04-11-2017 06:19 PM|
They use bone char! I did a LOT of research on this, and no, standard commercial sodas are NOT all vegan at all.
|06-28-2006 08:20 AM|
Originally Posted by Carwere15
I have no idea how they do most of the testing they do. I got a PETA e-newsletter a couple weeks back that mentioned Welch's, after hounding (no pun intended) from PETA had stopped it's animal testing. I had no idea then that they could do stuff like that with foods and drinks, but thinking about it more it makes sense. Plus Coca-Cola owns a LOT of companies I'm sure they find some way to pointlessly torture living animals. I like Jone's soda, it's good to know that they are Vegan @ least.
I don't know, if you make a claim like that it should be based on something substantial.
Then again, I'm pretty sure every single person who writes on this board does something that negatively affects a living creature at some point. It's silly and naive to believe you can cut it all out.
Not that I care much if anyone drinks soda, I'm just saying.
|06-28-2006 05:07 AM|
But I haven't heard of Coca-Cola or Pepsi doing animal testing. I don't think they do. But if you find any information on this, please let me know.
(I did see the PETA article you mentioned regarding juice companies running tests on animals in order to make certain health claims).
|06-27-2006 06:18 PM|
|Carwere15||I have no idea how they do most of the testing they do. I got a PETA e-newsletter a couple weeks back that mentioned Welch's, after hounding (no pun intended) from PETA had stopped it's animal testing. I had no idea then that they could do stuff like that with foods and drinks, but thinking about it more it makes sense. Plus Coca-Cola owns a LOT of companies I'm sure they find some way to pointlessly torture living animals. I like Jone's soda, it's good to know that they are Vegan @ least.|
|06-27-2006 04:25 PM|
|Tesseract||Knudsen's Spritzers are sweetened exclusively with fruit juice. They have no corn syrup and no cane sugar. I like them, but sometimes you just want a cola.|
|06-27-2006 04:23 PM|
It isn't that hard to find soda made with sugar in the US.
Try an ethnic foods grocer. They often have imported sodas that are made with real sugar.
|06-27-2006 04:10 PM|
I've given up chocolate, ice cream, cheese and milk. I ain't giving up soda darnit!
Then again, I still use white sugar in cooking too basically because it's what I can afford. I think I've made enough sacrifices for one person. lol
I would be interested too in what kind of animal testing Coke does. For soda? The umbrella company?
I'm quite sure though at least some of the things I use might have dubious animal backgrounds. I do the best I can. I'm just not giving up soda.
|06-27-2006 01:22 PM|
Actually the sources I've looked say only about 25% of sugar manufactured in the US is processed with bone char. The problem, if that's an issue that concerns you, is knowing WHICH 25%.
|06-27-2006 01:07 PM|
: Really?!? That'll seriously make my day if that's true.... I just recently followed a link to a list of vegan beers from another thread on here ... I'm not sure what it was named now. Heineken wasn't on that list, but that could just mean that it just wasn't included on theirs for some reason. I have some checking up to do! Thank you!!!
|06-27-2006 06:50 AM|
Soda is bad for you anyway.
I hear Blue Sky is rockin' and not bad for you, either.
Honestly ... you should try to wean off the soda.
|06-27-2006 06:21 AM|
Kristall from Sweden makes fruit flavored organic sodas. I think the only thing to worry about would be the amount of sugar on them. But other than that, they are delicious!
Whole Earth Foods make another organic soda, but you'll have to look it up on their website, because I don't have a bottle of the stuff with me now.
These both are vegan to my knowlage.
|06-27-2006 12:58 AM|
|Bugsy||me too, soda, is not my thang, tho a vernor's every couple years seems nice...|
|06-27-2006 12:06 AM|
|GhostUser||I would avoid all soda completely.|
|06-26-2006 11:17 PM|
|troub||but then you get those chemical sweetners. ew.|
|06-26-2006 11:16 PM|
|kpickell||The majority of vegans aren't concerned with bone char. But if you are, then yes, you'll want to stick to Diet sodas.|
|06-26-2006 11:10 PM|
|troub||of course caramel color comes from white sugar right? and most white sugar is filtered in bone char. bones aren't really vegan... calling the company and asking is the best bet.|
|06-26-2006 11:08 PM|
I'm sure some drink companies use white sugar...
wait never mind LOL I can't believe I would suggest them using something besides high fructose corn syrup, nv/m
|06-26-2006 08:41 PM|
Except for the occasional milk product, honey and maybe cochineal in some parts of the world, I can't imagine what kinds of animal ingredients would be used in carbonated beverages. Stay away from red-colored honey-yogurt soda, and you're probably safe.
Pretty much anything we eat and drink involved harm to other living creatures somewhere. There's an impact on the environment just getting clean drinking water to my tap.
|06-26-2006 08:33 PM|
|06-26-2006 08:15 PM|
Turkey and Gravy flavoured soda??
|06-26-2006 08:02 PM|
where'd you find that out from? heineken has always been on the vegan beer lists i've seen.
|06-26-2006 07:40 PM|
|Moechalatte||As far as animal testing goes.... you're really going to have a hard time avoiding companies like that... I think it's wonderful you're looking into animal testing as well as animal products being used, but it's really, really tough. A lot of companies say they don't test on animals, but they often mean "we didn't test on this batch" or "we don't test on this product anymore because we know it's okay now" ... It's just my not-so-knowledgeable opinion, but I think there are much worse products out there as far as animal testing goes than soda companies? I don't know... I would like to know a lot more about it. I just found out my Heineken isn't vegan so I really hope I won't have to cut out most soda as well....!|
|This thread has more than 30 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.|