|Topic Review (Newest First)|
|05-24-2017 01:36 PM|
While looking for a pie that I could eat last Thanksgiving, I actually found a lot of apple pies that did not contain eggs or dairy, though the brand name(s) escape me...
Also Burger King's apple pie is vegan last I checked, surprisingly.
|05-13-2017 08:25 PM|
It always curdles in soup
Although I must say that my husband ,who does most of the cooking because I am not allowed to play with fire, made a really nice pumpkin sauce the other day into which e put some soy milk - didn't curdle
|05-13-2017 04:47 PM|
I use the recipe on the Silk website for pudding. I've used both soy and almond, mostly the sweetened variety, and adjust the sugar to taste. everything gets whisked well while the milk is cold to dissolve the corn starch and sugar well. It is a pain because you need to monitor it while it cooks.
One thing it doesn't say and I think is important, do not disturb the pudding while it cools. I forget if this is for both cooked and instant, but it's definitely important for the instant!
I may need to get some instant vanilla pudding mix. I'd like it with berries
Another thing good and easier is to get chia seeds and add to milk, or juice, I forget proportions, but let sit in the fridge a while and it'll jel nicely. I like to sprinkle over a bowl of cut fruit and berries and add just a bit of sweetened non dairy
|05-13-2017 03:58 PM|
Well I failed...The recipe I got think gave poor directions because earlier today I went on silk soy website and they said you have to keep it on the fire mixing it until it becomes thick. So I just threw what I made into a graham pie crust and threw it in the freezer.
I'll try again after this pie is eaten up.
Maybe I should try the instant pudding recipe...I have some vanilla in my cabinet. I have a little bit of soy left so might add that with the coconut not to waste products. I got the unsweetened soy, but regular coconut milk.
That hasn't happened to me yet but maybe because I haven't left it on the fire long enough. I also used unsweetened soy...if you used sweetened might have something to do with how they sweetened it.
Going to try to be successful at making a coconut curry lentil...might add in some random veggies I have in the fridge.
Thanx for adding to the list
I bought the better than bouillon vegetable base. That is great some of the onion soups/dips can be vegan. I use them a lot to make stew. I haven't checked if the one i usually get. I am sure the one I usually get has no meat, but anything else not sure about.
I eat a lot of soups just because it's easier to eat everything you need without using separate plans and it's a quick filling meal.
|05-13-2017 06:15 AM|
I make pudding with soy milk, mostly with almond milk, but I have used soy without problem. I just use the usual recipe with milk, corn starch and sugar.
Those boxed instant puddings can be used with soy milk if you heat the soymilk first and then whisk it together. I forget why, but I've done it a few times. the vanilla pudding makes a great custard sauce
I'll never forget my happy dance when I first went vegan and found Aldi strawberry and orange fruit jels -at a dollar a four pak- were made from the locust bean gum, so yeah, vegan.
Wise brand onion rings - like the FunYums, are vegan, as are their onion and garlic potato chips
Most dried onion soup/dip mixes are vegan (not all) and make a much requested spinach dip with silken tofu and vegan mayo
Better than Boullion no chicken, and no beef soup bases. My favorite, and I order them online
I think this brand is regional, but Pierres makes vegan sorbets, and has a dark chocolate sorbet that's like a fudgesicle in a tub!
Sun chips plain (I think maybe garden salsa flavor but not sure) and Fritos corn chips! Those stave off hunger for me like nothing else
|05-12-2017 10:54 PM|
|BlueMts||Soy milk seems to curdle when cooked - at least it does for me.|
|05-12-2017 09:31 PM|
Thank you everyone who has shared. I hope people continue sharing any hidden gems.
I saw that I have it Favorited somewhere. But, thank you for mentioning it.
I think Keebler graham cracker crust is vegan. I bought it today... I didn't see anything on the back tied to animals not even honey. If I am incorrect about this product let me know.
I tried making home-made chocolate vegan pudding. But, I might have failed at it lol. If I did I'll just freeze it.
I could always try again with some coconut milk I have. I tried soy milk with the one that might have failed.
|05-12-2017 09:21 PM|
Peta has pages which they call "accidentally Vegan".At least there is one for Australia and one for the US.
I was amazed at how many vegan things you can buy in the supermarket before you even get to the health food aisle
|05-12-2017 05:32 PM|
Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe cake mixes
Mrs Smith's frozen pie crusts
Cheemo garlic perogies
Dad's oatmeal chocolate chip cookies
|05-12-2017 01:14 AM|
Talenti and Haagen-Dazs are two brands that have a few sorbets that are vegan friendly (though sugar might be questionable)
Kashi and Nature's Path both have vegan friendly cereals and other products. Both even list "vegan" products on their websites.
Thomas brand bagels (the plain ones) are "accidentally vegan".
Hain vegetarian brown gravy mix
Pillsbury Gluten Free multi purpose flour blend
Bisquick Original Pancake and Baking Mix (though sugar might be questionable)
|05-11-2017 11:48 PM|
I bought some battered onion rings for him the other day.
They didn't have eggs or dairy in, which really surprised me as eggs and milk are standard ingredients in batter.
I can only attribute it to food manufacturers finding cheaper ingredients to use which do a similar job?
It wouldn't surprise me if more 'standard' products get reformulated to be animal-product free for this reason.
|05-11-2017 10:14 PM|
Products you thought weren't free of animal products, but were!
I been spending long times in the supermarket to read the back of products that I thought weren't free of animal products to find out that they were
Now some weren't GMO free...but still interesting.
I went in the section to look at pillsbury to look at all the pre-made stuff. While I don't really buy their brand much even when I was just vegetarian. I thought why not.....I looked at them all, but found that only the crescent original and butter flavor didn't have any milk, eggs, cheese, whatever else that is tied to an animal in it. While there are some big words on the back...I don't even think those big words are any type of animal product. (The monoglycerides in this product I believe are vegetable base.)
I was curious if there are any products that you thought had animal products in it but didn't?