What to see in Maine? (Help plan my vacation!) - VeggieBoards - A Vegetarian Community
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 07-16-2010, 04:54 AM
Beginner

So my bf and I, and his dog, are trying to plan a trip to Maine. We know we want to go to Acadia National Park, hike with the dog, maybe bike. We also want to go whale watching (where's a good place for that?) Maybe kayaking? - I've never done that before though, so I'd have to get some practice first. Anyway, other than that, we're pretty clueless - Any suggestions on what we should see?

Any direction would be much appreciated!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 07-16-2010, 05:04 AM
Beginner

The only reason I ever go to Maine is to go outlet shopping in Kittery or Freeport. So I recommend that. Otherwise, the state scares me. I prefer to stay in my southern corner of New England.
#3 Old 07-16-2010, 05:26 AM
Beginner

I went to the outlets as well over Independence Day weekend, since my father lives in York now. There is a lighthouse in York that is cool to check out. My father's wife also said something about ghost tours in York, but we didn't have time to check it out. Honestly, I have lived in New England all my life and I have only been to Maine a handful of times.
#4 Old 07-16-2010, 06:18 AM
Beginner

Um...the ocean? Seriously, I absolutely love the coast there. There are all sorts of rocky places, but Ogunquit is one of my faves, with lots of sand.

Acadia National Park is wonderful too, though I've only been once.

There are loads and loads of places to go hiking. You can even do the last bit of the Appalachian Trail if you wanted. Mt. Katahdin is in the middle of a nice State (maybe national?) park where you can see all sort of wildlife, including deer and moose (and occasionally, black bears).

I've not been to Maine in ages and ages. It's one of the places I hope to take my other half to someday as I play tour-guide to my own country.