Order vegan pizza online from Pizza Hut - VeggieBoards - A Vegetarian Community
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 05-14-2008, 07:39 AM
Beginner
 
derwenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 800
I just discovered... on the Pizza Hut online order form they give you the option to select 'no cheese'! Their website says that the Pan and Italian pizza bases are vegan, so hey, vegan pizza online! I did have to order one though, just to check that they really will bring you a pizza without cheese - purely for research purposes you understand - and indeed they do! Not that I'm planning to eat Pizza Hut pizza all that often, but I think it's a sign of progress that you can order vegan pizza online and have it delivered in 20 minutes.
derwenna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-14-2008, 08:30 AM
Beginner
 
wutaweirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 845
Papa Johns does this. I don't understand why a pizza place WOULDN'T. I mean... not only does it help out customers, but also costs them less money to omit the cheese. You'd be paying the same price as a pizza WITH cheese, wouldn't you?
wutaweirdo is offline  
#3 Old 05-14-2008, 08:43 AM
Beginner
 
isowish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,858
some pizza hut bases are vegan now? that's awesome! last time I checked, they all had milk I'm happy now, in case I'm ever stuck where pizza hut is my only option
isowish is offline  
#4 Old 05-14-2008, 08:46 AM
Beginner
 
Lovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 157
I hate pizza hut. Last time I decided to try it again i got a thin crust mushroom & olive pizza with no cheese. And all the sauce was only in the middle of the pizza and there was also a piece of sausage on my pizza that I bit into thinking it was a mushroom at first glance. I couldn't eat the rest of the pizza after that.



Papa Johns thin crust pizza is good though and I really like their sauce.
Lovey is offline  
#5 Old 05-14-2008, 08:55 AM
Beginner
 
derwenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 800
Never heard of Papa John's - although looking at the website, it looks like the nearest one to me is about 50 miles away, probably explains it... Wonder how far the little delivery scooters travel??
derwenna is offline  
#6 Old 05-14-2008, 08:56 AM
Beginner
 
Lovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 157
Also Papa Murpheys take and bake thin crust pizza isn't bad either. I just wish more pizza places had wheat crust as an option.
Lovey is offline  
#7 Old 05-14-2008, 09:34 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by isowish View Post

some pizza hut bases are vegan now? that's awesome! last time I checked, they all had milk I'm happy now, in case I'm ever stuck where pizza hut is my only option



I'm pretty sure this is still the case. Dominos bases are vegan though! No cheese with double jalapenos, peppers and mixed herbs... *drools*. You can also order Dominos online, and in my experience they're pretty fast.



I remember the one time I called instead of ordering online. I asked for no cheese and the guy repeated "...no cheese?". Me: "no cheese." Him: "er, hold on. *calls to colleagues* GUYS CAN WE DO NO CHEESE? Yeah, no cheese... I know.. *back on the phone* Okay, we can do that". It was pretty funny, he was genuinely amazed that I wanted no cheese. Surely it's not that uncommon, with lactose intolerant people and such?
Earthling is offline  
#8 Old 05-14-2008, 09:38 AM
Beginner
 
Lovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 157
I thought dominos pizza was only vegan in the thin crust?



On their website it shows



CRUST (DEEP DISH): Contains Milk, Wheat, Soy.

CRUST (HAND TOSSED): Contains Milk, Wheat, Soy.

CRUST (THIN CRUST): Contains Soy, Wheat.



http://www.dominos.com/home/menu/ingredients.jsp
Lovey is offline  
#9 Old 05-14-2008, 09:54 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,160
Sorry, you're right of course. I should have specified
Earthling is offline  
#10 Old 05-14-2008, 09:56 AM
Beginner
 
wutaweirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovey View Post

Also Papa Murpheys take and bake thin crust pizza isn't bad either. I just wish more pizza places had wheat crust as an option.



Mmmmm... wheat crust?
wutaweirdo is offline  
#11 Old 05-14-2008, 09:56 AM
Beginner
 
Lovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorzelGummidge View Post

Sorry, you're right of course. I should have specified



Well I just got excited for a second. I thought just maybe their hand tossed crust was actually vegan , so I had to double check.
Lovey is offline  
#12 Old 05-14-2008, 11:33 AM
Beginner
 
isowish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,858
derwenna, where did you get that info about bases being vegan? since there seems to be differing information in this thread, and I can't find it anywhere I could do with some info ...
isowish is offline  
#13 Old 05-14-2008, 11:46 AM
Beginner
 
isowish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,858
aha! looking at the pdf ... yeah, I found it. pan pizza and italian ARE vegan. yay!
isowish is offline  
#14 Old 05-14-2008, 12:08 PM
Beginner
 
derwenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 800
For anyone else who wants a look: http://www.pizzahut.co.uk/restaurant...uirements.html
derwenna is offline  
#15 Old 05-14-2008, 12:14 PM
Beginner
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by isowish View Post

aha! looking at the pdf ... yeah, I found it. pan pizza and italian ARE vegan. yay!



I always thought Pizza Hut's bases contained milk, but this is great news. I've still never plucked up courage to order a pizza without cheese. I have visions of being met with incredulous looks and s******ing.



We should all meet up for a vegan pizza night!



GhostUser is offline  
#16 Old 05-14-2008, 12:20 PM
Beginner
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Hmm, this may be cause for concern:



The 'Yes'/'No' in the column entitled 'suitable for vegans' details information supplied by the product manufacturer. It does not take into account the in-house storage/preparation

methods where cross-contamination issues could render the information void.
GhostUser is offline  
#17 Old 05-14-2008, 02:31 PM
Beginner
 
derwenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_Veggie View Post

I always thought Pizza Hut's bases contained milk, but this is great news. I've still never plucked up courage to order a pizza without cheese. I have visions of being met with incredulous looks and s******ing.



Order online for delivery, if you've got somewhere near you that delivers. I'm not great at asking for "weird" stuff either...



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_Veggie View Post

The 'Yes'/'No' in the column entitled 'suitable for vegans' details information supplied by the product manufacturer. It does not take into account the in-house storage/preparation

methods where cross-contamination issues could render the information void.



That's probably true of any restaurant which prepares non-vegan food, I assumed they were just covering their backs by actually stating it. Looks like a "don't sue us" statement to me.
derwenna is offline  
#18 Old 05-14-2008, 02:38 PM
Beginner
 
Lovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 157
Quote:
That's probably true of any restaurant which prepares non-vegan food, I assumed they were just covering their backs by actually stating it. Looks like a "don't sue us" statement to me.



Like I said when I went to pizza hut I had a couple sausage crumbles end up on my pizza. I know it happens but after that I had no desire to eat the rest of my pizza.
Lovey is offline  
#19 Old 05-14-2008, 02:45 PM
Beginner
 
isowish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_Veggie View Post

I always thought Pizza Hut's bases contained milk, but this is great news. I've still never plucked up courage to order a pizza without cheese. I have visions of being met with incredulous looks and s******ing.



We should all meet up for a vegan pizza night!










pizza hut bases USED to contain milk, I'm sure of it. But evidently, no longer!



I've ordered pizza without cheese a bunch of times, and the most I've ever gotten is a funny look
isowish is offline  
#20 Old 05-14-2008, 09:09 PM
Beginner
 
Pirate Ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 2,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovey View Post

I thought dominos pizza was only vegan in the thin crust?



On their website it shows



CRUST (DEEP DISH): Contains Milk, Wheat, Soy.

CRUST (HAND TOSSED): Contains Milk, Wheat, Soy.

CRUST (THIN CRUST): Contains Soy, Wheat.



http://www.dominos.com/home/menu/ingredients.jsp



Youre on dominos.COM , this is the UK forum!

All dominos bases (unless obviously not) are vegan, so are their potato wedges



I live literally a 5 minute walk away - I know my dominos =p
Pirate Ferret is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off