Starbursts NOT vegan?? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 10-27-2009, 07:19 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,160
I e-mailed Wrigleys months ago to ask if a product was vegan. I can't remember what it was since it was so long ago, I assumed they were ignoring my e-mail for some reason. But today I got this:



Quote:
We confirm that while the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the UK & ROI are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products; the following Wrigley products contain ingredients which ARE NOT suitable for:



Vegan Diet



Hubba Bubba Max Strawberry & Watermelon

Altoid Mins

Skittles Crazy Sours

Skittles Fruits

Starburst Original

Starburst Sours

Lockets Extra Strong

Lockets Honey & Lemon

Lockets Cranberry & Blueberry





Vegetarian Diet



Altoid Mints

Skittles Crazy Sours

Skittles Fruits

Starburst Original

Starburst Sours



I've e-mailed back to ask what's in them that makes them not even vegetarian, but I expect I'll have to wait another 2 - 3 months for an answer. Does anybody know what it might be? I'm very disappointed, I've been eating Starbursts since I went vegan :/
Earthling is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-27-2009, 07:21 PM
Beginner
 
Semicharmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,801
I know you're in the UK... But I can tell you US Starbursts aren't even vegetarian - they have gelatin.
Semicharmed is offline  
#3 Old 10-27-2009, 07:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,160
I know that, they don't have gelatine here.



Though it now occurs to me that maybe the person who replied didn't bother reading the "I'm in England" bit of my e-mail... hmm. I'll reply again and check that.



ETA: Scratch that, it says UK and ROI in the reply she sent me so yeah. Weirdness.
Earthling is offline  
#4 Old 10-27-2009, 07:28 PM
Beginner
 
Semicharmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,801
Odd, maybe not...



But that thread you posted in a bit back seemed to have the same opening sentence that said something like "sold in the UK..." so it would SEEM they did read the England bit?



Very odd.



My recommendation would be to place a phone call. You can get a live agent to answer questions, and follow-up questions MUCH faster. Is there a toll-free number on your Starbursts package?
Semicharmed is offline  
#5 Old 10-27-2009, 07:55 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,160
Oh I forgot about that thread, that must have been what I e-mailed them about.



I'll try and get hold of a real person, I really hope they haven't secretly changed the ingredients without telling us
Earthling is offline  
#6 Old 10-28-2009, 04:52 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,981
Ingredients from the ocado website seem pretty straightforward:



Starburst® Original ingredients: glucose syrup, sugar, fruit juices (7.7%) (apple, blackcurrant, strawberry, orange, lime, lemon), hydrogenated vegetable fat, acids (citric acid, malicacid), modified starch, dextrin, flavourings, maltodextrin, emulsifier (soya lecithin), natural colours (beta carotene, anthocyanins, chlorophylin).

Starburst® Strawberry ingredients: glucose syrup, sugar, fruit juices (7.2%) (strawberry (4.2%), passion fruit, grapefruit, lime, raspberry, apple), hydrogenated vegetable fat, acidity regulator (citric acid), flavourings, modified starch, dextrin, maltodextrin, natural colours (beta carotene, anthocyanins), emulsifier (soya lecithin).

Starburst® Chews Sours ingredients: glucose syrup, sugar, hydrogenated vegetable fat, acids (citric acid, malic acid), fruit juices (3.1%) (raspberry, apple, pineapple, cherry), flavourings, modified starch, dextrin, maltodextrin, emulsifier (soya lecithin), natural colours (beta carotene, anthocyanins, chlorophyllin).



Just the 'flavourings' t oworry about
MrFalafel is offline  
#7 Old 10-28-2009, 03:15 PM
Beginner
 
Pirate Ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 2,950
maybe its the beta carotene? i cant imagine what non vegetarian flavours theyd put in fruit sweeties. if i eat sweets its starburst =(
Pirate Ferret is offline  
#8 Old 10-28-2009, 04:46 PM
Beginner
 
Shockingpink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 94
Well, I didn't even know that Opal Fruits (Starburst) were now made by Wrigley.... but just found this which definitely says they are vegan...



EDIT: whoops - no they're not! Choozers and Smoothies (whatever they are), are - but the rest aren't even veggie, it would seem!
Shockingpink is offline  
#9 Old 10-29-2009, 01:58 AM
Beginner
 
The Lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 986
all you little piggies will just have to eat an apple . . .
The Lurker is offline  
#10 Old 10-29-2009, 06:23 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Lurker View Post

all you little piggies will just have to eat an apple . . .



Not while Choozers are still vegan
Earthling is offline  
#11 Old 10-29-2009, 07:11 AM
Beginner
 
The Lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 986
I have no idea what a 'Choozer' is, but it doesn't sound good . . .
The Lurker is offline  
#12 Old 10-29-2009, 01:03 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,160
They're Starbursts with liquid yumminess in the middle.
Earthling is offline  
#13 Old 10-29-2009, 02:11 PM
Beginner
 
Puca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 240
I had Starburst the other day
Puca is offline  
#14 Old 10-29-2009, 02:31 PM
Beginner
 
Pirate Ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 2,950
So what the hell is in them?! Im interested to know now! Will buy the smoothie ones when i need sweeties
Pirate Ferret is offline  
#15 Old 10-29-2009, 03:03 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,160
I don't know yet, I haven't been at home during the day to call them. I'll try and do it next Tuesday if I'm not busy.
Earthling is offline  
#16 Old 10-29-2009, 04:41 PM
Beginner
 
Andromache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 953
Ok, so the Choozers and Smoothies are ok?



Shame, I thought Starbust and Skittles were vegan now.
Andromache is offline  
#17 Old 10-30-2009, 05:50 PM
Beginner
 
Pirate Ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 2,950
last time i looked skittles still had e120 in but no shellac or anything
Pirate Ferret is offline  
#18 Old 10-30-2009, 06:10 PM
Beginner
 
Paradox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Ferret View Post

last time i looked skittles still had e120 in but no shellac or anything



That wouldn't even make them vegetarian. Pretty sure they don't contain e120.



EDIT: Whoops, thought we were still talking starburst
Paradox is offline  
#19 Old 10-30-2009, 06:14 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,160
I thought Skittles had always been a no-no? Gelatine innit?
Earthling is offline  
#20 Old 10-30-2009, 07:44 PM
Beginner
 
Pirate Ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 2,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradox View Post

That wouldn't even make them vegetarian. Pretty sure they don't contain e120.



oops i totally made that sound like i thought only e120 was a good thing. clearly its not, step in the right direction though.



I was reading a friends packet the other day (who thought i should eat the green ones cause theyd have no red) and theyre now gelatineless
Pirate Ferret is offline  
#21 Old 10-31-2009, 06:14 AM
Beginner
 
IamJen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,134
Skittles used to have gelatine, even in the UK, then they were vegan for awhile, but then they added the carmine.



I wrote to the company about Starburst just earlier this year, and they said that they were indeed vegan. I'd come across a pack from like Romania or somewhere, and it didn't have the "vegetarian" label on it, so I was curious. I'm not sure I saved the email though.



We need a thread where we can post UK company responses on things like this.

The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
IamJen is offline  
#22 Old 11-06-2009, 04:18 PM
Beginner
 
Becca199212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 99
OMG I was 100% sure that choosers weren't vegan, straight off to the sweet shop tomorrow morning, they were always my favourite, can't believe I've needlessly went this long without them!
Becca199212 is offline  
#23 Old 11-09-2009, 09:13 AM
Beginner
 
TuXeDoMaSk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 0
Hello out there. this may sound strange, but I'm in America, and I've found this prize/cash card in a UK video game magazine, & it claims that I've won on 2 out of 3 of the cards. Its from a company called Purely Creative, and all the research I've done says it's legit. Well anyway to claim the prize you have to be a member of the UK, which I am not, but I would hate to let this go to waste if it really is something special, so if anyones interested, post there adress, and maybe a little information, & I'll try to send the cards to you. one of them has 3 apples, and the other has 2 bikes and a pencil. supposadely any 2 or more matching symbols is a winner. well anyway I HOPE I can help someone out. I chose this forum because I eat only raw foods(no meat), & I believe that this money or whatever it is would be better in the hands of an herbivore.
TuXeDoMaSk is offline  
#24 Old 11-22-2009, 05:25 AM
Beginner
 
mc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 238
but the Starburst chewy fruits say "Suitable for a Vegan andVegetarian diet" on the nutritional page ??

I'm confused ?



INGREDIENTS GLUCOSE SYRUP, SUGAR, INVERT SUGAR, VEGETABLE FAT, FRUIT JUICES (3,7%) (APPLE, ORANGE, RASPBERRY, MANGO), ACIDITY REGULATORS (E296, E330, E331, E451), FLAVOURINGS, DEXTRIN, MODIFIED STARCH, MALTODEXTRIN, GELLING AGENT (PECTIN), COLOURS (E100, E132, E160a, E163).
mc55 is offline  
#25 Old 11-22-2009, 01:50 PM
Beginner
 
yally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,922
Hey guys, don't panic, starburst are on the vegan list too:



Quote:

Hubba Bubba Max Strawberry & Watermelon

Altoid Mins

Skittles Crazy Sours

Skittles Fruits

Starburst Original

Starburst Sours


Lockets Extra Strong

Lockets Honey & Lemon

Lockets Cranberry & Blueberry

yally is offline  
#26 Old 11-22-2009, 01:51 PM
Beginner
 
yally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,922
Oh, I totally misread it, don't mind me!



(having trouble deleting my post)
yally is offline  
#27 Old 11-23-2009, 02:30 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 153
I thought they were vegan...I thought it was just the company that wasn't...'mars'.
chenli is offline  
#28 Old 03-20-2010, 08:14 PM
Beginner
 
Pirate Ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 2,950
Oooohh

http://www.wrigley.com/uk/brands/sta...aign=wrigleyuk

I do believe they have added the vegetarian label back. checking out the fanta ingredients inspired me to check. HMMMM do I go and buy some or still be wary?
Pirate Ferret is offline  
#29 Old 03-28-2010, 11:07 AM
Beginner
 
derwenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 800
Cool, thanks for that. They all appear to say suitable for vegans next to them :-).
derwenna is offline  
#30 Old 03-29-2010, 01:49 PM
Beginner
 
*Star*Lass*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,360
The description says Smoothies have yoghurt in them. No wonder we get confused!
*Star*Lass* is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off