Vegan Olive Garden Dinner? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-20-2008, 09:18 AM
Beginner

I'm new to being vegan (been vegetarian for 4 years) and my husband too. Other night we went to olive garden with some "meat eatting" friends. We got the salad without cheese, minestrone soup without cheese, and I got the mushroom ravoli with marinia sauce and my husband got the eggplant and spagatti all without cheese.

I'm just curious if anyone knows for sure if it was all really vegan. Our waitess didn't know anything about wat was and wasn't vegan and I couldn't find anything online. Any info would be great. Thanks.

I guess we'll live and learn right?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-20-2008, 09:21 AM
Beginner

Well, I know that their basic salad dressing isn't vegan; it contains a number of different cheeses. As far as I know, the minestrone is, but I don't know if their pasta is made with eggs or not. I only know for sure that their salad dressing isn't since they catered a lunch at my workplace and I snuck a peek at the bottle.
#3 Old 02-20-2008, 09:23 AM
Beginner

Hello there,

Well, I am not positive but I have heard that their house dressing even has eggs and cheese in it!

Again, I am not positive, but I have read that the only thing vegan at Olive Garden in the marinara sauce, and breadsticks w/o parmesan. But, I believe everything I read.

-kristen
#4 Old 02-20-2008, 09:25 AM
Beginner

Just wanted to agree with the previous responses. No meal at Olive Garden is vegan as far as I know. When I first turned vegetarian I ate there with family, and thought I did ok with soup and salad. But the soup bases are meat broths too.

Lynn

https://www.facebook.com/vigilant20

https://www.facebook.com/FrugalVegetarianRecipes

#5 Old 02-20-2008, 09:29 AM
Beginner

Ohhh wow. Thanks.

I also forgot we did eat some bread sticks too!