vegan chocolate chips/ghirardelli - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-25-2007, 02:10 PM
Beginner

i've been using ghiradelli semi-sweet choclate chips for a few months now, because my roommate swore they were vegan. i checked the ingredients (of course) and couldn't see anything non-vegan. then, another vegan friend of mine scared me into double checking with ghirardellis. i got this email in response to my question asking if there were any animal products in the semi-sweet chocolate chips and if they were vegan:

"Thank you for contacting Ghirardelli Chocolate. In response to your

inquiry, Ghirardelli does not consider any of our chocolate products to

be vegan. Our Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips do not contain a dairy

ingredient; however they do share a line with chocolate products which

do contain either whole milk powder or a milk fat. Our lines are

cleaned and flushed between the changing of one flavor to the next."

the ingredients on the package are: semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, unsweetened choclate, cocoa butter, soy lecithin- an emulsifier, vanilla). May contain trace amounts of milk.

so....i'm wondering if anyone else thinks that, although they don't admit they're vegan, these chocolate chips are vegan. i'd appreciate any input. i can't see any reason why they wouldn't be, and i'd like to keep using all the left over bags of chips that i have. thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-25-2007, 02:13 PM
Beginner

Other than the sugar.. I see no problems. Unless you don't want the stuff made on the same machines as something with dairy in it. It's up to you.
#3 Old 02-25-2007, 02:16 PM
Beginner

They're just missing the point/covering their asses. The ingredients don't contain anything derived from animals. Thus, imo- vegan. The potential for minute cross contamination which would affect only those with severe allergies is a totally separate issue. Veganism= boycotting animal products. The formula doesn't contain any. You're good.

Quote: