vegan chocolate chips/ghirardelli - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 02-25-2007, 02:10 PM
Beginner
 
veganbuzzcock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
i've been using ghiradelli semi-sweet choclate chips for a few months now, because my roommate swore they were vegan. i checked the ingredients (of course) and couldn't see anything non-vegan. then, another vegan friend of mine scared me into double checking with ghirardellis. i got this email in response to my question asking if there were any animal products in the semi-sweet chocolate chips and if they were vegan:



"Thank you for contacting Ghirardelli Chocolate. In response to your

inquiry, Ghirardelli does not consider any of our chocolate products to

be vegan. Our Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips do not contain a dairy

ingredient; however they do share a line with chocolate products which

do contain either whole milk powder or a milk fat. Our lines are

cleaned and flushed between the changing of one flavor to the next."



the ingredients on the package are: semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, unsweetened choclate, cocoa butter, soy lecithin- an emulsifier, vanilla). May contain trace amounts of milk.



so....i'm wondering if anyone else thinks that, although they don't admit they're vegan, these chocolate chips are vegan. i'd appreciate any input. i can't see any reason why they wouldn't be, and i'd like to keep using all the left over bags of chips that i have. thanks!
veganbuzzcock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 02-25-2007, 02:13 PM
Beginner
 
GanyGreenBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 386
Other than the sugar.. I see no problems. Unless you don't want the stuff made on the same machines as something with dairy in it. It's up to you.
GanyGreenBean is offline  
#3 Old 02-25-2007, 02:16 PM
Beginner
 
lilac wine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 592
They're just missing the point/covering their asses. The ingredients don't contain anything derived from animals. Thus, imo- vegan. The potential for minute cross contamination which would affect only those with severe allergies is a totally separate issue. Veganism= boycotting animal products. The formula doesn't contain any. You're good.



Quote:
Originally Posted by veganbuzzcock View Post

i've been using ghiradelli semi-sweet choclate chips for a few months now, because my roommate swore they were vegan. i checked the ingredients (of course) and couldn't see anything non-vegan. then, another vegan friend of mine scared me into double checking with ghirardellis. i got this email in response to my question asking if there were any animal products in the semi-sweet chocolate chips and if they were vegan:



"Thank you for contacting Ghirardelli Chocolate. In response to your

inquiry, Ghirardelli does not consider any of our chocolate products to

be vegan. Our Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips do not contain a dairy

ingredient; however they do share a line with chocolate products which

do contain either whole milk powder or a milk fat. Our lines are

cleaned and flushed between the changing of one flavor to the next."



the ingredients on the package are: semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, unsweetened choclate, cocoa butter, soy lecithin- an emulsifier, vanilla). May contain trace amounts of milk.



so....i'm wondering if anyone else thinks that, although they don't admit they're vegan, these chocolate chips are vegan. i'd appreciate any input. i can't see any reason why they wouldn't be, and i'd like to keep using all the left over bags of chips that i have. thanks!

lilac wine is offline  
#4 Old 02-25-2007, 02:53 PM
Beginner
 
meatless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,670
I'm with lilacwine... they're vegan.
meatless is offline  
#5 Old 02-25-2007, 02:57 PM
Beginner
 
veganbuzzcock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
thanks guys!!!
veganbuzzcock is offline  
#6 Old 02-25-2007, 03:13 PM
Beginner
 
piratemoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,515
Yeah, I'd continue to use the ones that you have. However, if you want certainty, you can buy such things from online stores like Vegan Essentials (US) and VeganStore (UK)

They have sweet treats and bakery kinda items.



pirate x
piratemoon is offline  
#7 Old 02-25-2007, 05:20 PM
Beginner
 
shineonyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 617
I imagine that they aren't willing to claim they are vegan because they don't want to deal with any liability issues/ lawsuits. Vegan = Diary-free, which they aren't for someone with severe allergies.



Even Wal-Mart has a store brand variety of chocolate chips that are vegan... if you aren't turned off by Wal-Mart, of course.
shineonyou is offline  
#8 Old 02-25-2007, 06:14 PM
Beginner
 
kennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
I use them and consider them vegan too.



I bet lots of vegan products are actually made using equipment that also processes non-vegan food sometimes. The equipment gets cleaned in between, so I still consider it vegan. In an ideal world it wouldn't be like this, of course.



They're the only choice I have at my local stores. If there was a better choice, I would use it, but until then it's the most vegan option I've got.
kennyboy is offline  
#9 Old 02-25-2007, 06:16 PM
Beginner
 
lilac wine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyboy View Post

I bet lots of vegan products are actually made using equipment that also processes non-vegan food sometimes.



yep, virtually all of them are.
lilac wine is offline  
#10 Old 02-26-2007, 07:13 AM
Beginner
 
kimmifb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 78
I used to use ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips but noticed recently that they added "milkfat" to their list of ingredients on the package! It didn't say that before, but now it does!
kimmifb is offline  
#11 Old 02-26-2007, 10:11 AM
Beginner
 
kennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
The ones at my local store don't say that yet, but I guess that's just perhaps because they haven't gotten new stock yet.



DANG IT! If they get a new batch in and they have milkfat in them I am sending a hateful e-mail so fast it will make your head spin.
kennyboy is offline  
#12 Old 02-26-2007, 02:47 PM
Beginner
 
southern_vegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 166
I dont see a problem with them. I mean, most soy milks, soy ice creams, etc. are all made on the same equiptment. They thouroughly wash all the machines between each batch, so I dont worry.
southern_vegan is offline  
#13 Old 03-07-2007, 12:07 PM
Beginner
 
sassy~veg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 89
oh wow, good to know!

I bought those chocolate chips when I baked my first batch of Vegan ChocoChip Cookies! I figured I bought the right kind since all the others had obvious dairy-derived ingredients. Mine didn't say milkfat, so hooray! They WERE 100% Vegan Cookies
sassy~veg is offline  
#14 Old 03-07-2007, 12:08 PM
Beginner
 
isowish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,858
they sound vegan IMO. I consider myself vegan and eat lots of products that have to have that allergy warning but don't contain animal-derived ingredients.
isowish is offline  
#15 Old 03-05-2014, 07:27 PM
Beginner
 
Godispromising's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Plant city, fl
Posts: 1
I think they are vegan, no animals are harmed or used in making them. Sure there is some milk products in some of their other products but there are none in this one, so why not enjoy your vegan chocolate chips, I sure am. I know vegans who wouldn't eat them because they are processed in the same facility and that is their choice, but I live by the fact that as a vegan I am saving the lives of around 171 animals a year, and I am saving cows and calves from being tortured for milk products. I will never knowingly eat any non vegan products that contribute to hurting animals. Ghirardeli semi sweet chocolate chips do not, so I will enjoy eating them. Much love to you! smiley.gif
Godispromising is offline  
#16 Old 03-06-2014, 04:07 AM
Beginner
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 4,601

 Ghirardeli has different types of chips--there's the semi sweet -which is what I think are vegan--and the bittersweet which I believe has milkfat or something.

Yeah, a lot of store brand semi sweet chips are also vegan, but some aren't very good. I get one that has a silouette of a women on the front that's good for cookies-not a store brand but definitely cheap.

silva is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off