• 1 Post By LedBoots
  • 1 Post By silva
  • 1 Post By PandemicAcolyte
  • 1 Post By bluebenji
  • 1 Post By Chocorococo
  • 1 Post By Naturebound

#1 Old 08-26-2015, 07:51 AM

Smile Vegan Protein supplements?

Okay, so I am new to being a Vegan and I am really lost on some of my nutrients. I haven't been getting my right amount of protein for the past week since I started. I was doing some research trying to find a good source of protein and I came across some protein supplements on Peta's website. So I am going to throw the link at the end of this. But I have some questions still. What are some good meals that I can cook up before work or the night before and prepare it. I know beans and what not are good, but what are some other good sources. If anyone could tell me some good information and be specific because I don't even know what all the vitamins I need are. I started taking some centrum vitamins in the morning for the B12, but I don't know about much else. Also here are the links to the protein powders. Are these powders okay to take one or two times a day? Are they as good as getting the protein through real food? Thank you!!!

http://www.peta.org/living/food/pump...rotein-powder/
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-26-2015, 09:04 AM
Super Moderator

Personally, I've never taken protein powders. Protein is found in such a wide variety of plant foods that it's really unnecessary to supplement further. You say you eat beans, which is great. How about nuts and nut butters, chickpea dahl, hummus, tofu, seitan, tempeh, soy milk, soy yogurt, soy ice cream, veggie burgers and sausages?

If you eat a varied diet, you shouldn't have to worry too much about anything beyond B12, I take a vegan EPA/DHA supplement and a multivitamin just in case, but for years I was perfectly healthy without. It's more of a precaution since I'm currently pregnant.
#3 Old 08-26-2015, 09:58 AM