Possible Thanksgiving Seitan Disaster - Please help! - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By jennyface
  • 1 Post By Marjoram

#1 Old 11-26-2014, 12:09 PM

Possible Thanksgiving Seitan Disaster - Please help!

Hi everyone, I need some help, as I may have to remake my main dish....

Since half my family is vegan and half isn't, we have two Thanksgiving meals (ugh, seriously is your dead animal that important to you that you force your disabled wife to cook you a completely separate meal on Thanksgiving?? but I digress...), and I am in charge of the vegan meal. I decided to make the Holiday seitan roast from the November Issue of Vegetarian Times, which involves making seitan from scratch, which I have never done before.

Now I KNOW that you are not supposed to boil it, and I tried to simmer it like it said, but even though I lowed the heat all the way down it was still lightly boiling and now it looks like brains. Is it ruined? Do I have to remake it? The rest of the recipe involves browning and roasting the brai-I mean seitan, so maybe that will salvage it? Please help! I still gotta do gravy and pecan pie today and Mum's currently in the ER, so if I need to remake the seitan I need to know ASAP....

Thanks in advance fellow vegans <3
Purp likes this.

"You know I'm a radical."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 11-26-2014, 12:51 PM
Beginner

I have no idea about Seitan but YouTube DEFINITELY will! Look up your problem on YouTube and I'm more than certain that you'll get the visual answer you'll want Good luck!
#3 Old 11-26-2014, 01:42 PM