Are the Chocolate Vanilla Crème Cookies from Glutino vegan? - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 07-17-2014, 12:34 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Question Are the Chocolate Vanilla Crème Cookies from Glutino vegan?

Hi, I've been a vegan for a little over 9 months. I really love it! Unfortunately, I also have a gluten intolerance and find it difficult to figure out if foods are both gluten free and vegan.

Here are the ingredients to the Glutino Chocolate Vanilla Crème Cookies-

INGREDIENTS: TAPIOCA FLOUR, RICE FLOUR, VEGETABLE SHORTENING (PALM OIL, SOYBEAN OIL, CANOLA OIL, ALPHA-TOCOPHEROL AS AN ANTIOXIDANT), CONFECTIONER’S SUGAR, COCOA (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), WATER, TAPIOCA SYRUP, CORN STARCH, CASSAVA FLOUR, DEXTROSE, COCOA, POTATO FLOUR, SOY LECITHIN, SALT, NATURAL VANILLA FLAVOR, SODIUM BICARBONATE, XANTHAN GUM.

BUT, then at the end this is added-

MAY CONTAIN: MILK, EGGS, PEANUTS AND TREE NUTS.

Are they vegan? Thank you so much.
Veganteen15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 07-17-2014, 01:31 PM
Impeach the psychopath
 
Capstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,963
Neither milk nor eggs are vegan. What this likely means is, the cookies are processed on a machine that is also used for making other products that contain these non-vegan ingredients, so there may trace amounts of it in the cookies. The recipe for the cookies appears to be vegan, but because the company also makes non-vegan products, there may be small- possibly microscopic- amounts of dairy and eggs in the cookies. They post this as a warning for those who may have allergies to tree-nuts, dairy, peanuts, etc.

"There is more wisdom in the song of a bird, than in the speech of a philosopher...." -Oahspe
"The thing is, you cannot judge a race. Any man who judges by the group is a pea-wit. You take men one at a time." -Buster Kilrain, The Killer Angels -Michael Shaara
"The fact is, none of us truly win, until we all win."
Capstan is offline  
#3 Old 07-17-2014, 02:02 PM
Veggie Regular
 
odizzido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 727
The only ingredient in there that is, to me, not vegan is possibly the sugar.

http://www.vrg.org/journal/vj2007iss...sue4_sugar.php
odizzido is offline  
Reply

Tags
#cookies , #glutenfree , #glutino , #vegan

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off