Are jr mints vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 07-16-2011, 02:16 PM
 
ebonyvegetarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 197
It looks like it but I could be wrong. People say skittles aren't but I don't see how. My friend has celiacs and a casein intolerance and says foods say they don't have dairy in them but they really do. So confusing

I used to avoid soy but ill consume a little if its organic and fermented lol
ebonyvegetarian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 07-16-2011, 02:17 PM
 
Amy SF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 20,217
No. Junior Mints contain gelatin *cries* so they're not even vegetarian, much less vegan.

I miss Junior Mints.

*this space not for sale*
Amy SF is offline  
#3 Old 07-16-2011, 02:27 PM
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 4,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonyvegetarian View Post

It looks like it but I could be wrong. People say skittles aren't but I don't see how. My friend has celiacs and a casein intolerance and says foods say they don't have dairy in them but they really do. So confusing

I too miss Junior Mints!
I haven't anything vegan that matches that creamy mint. Endangered Species Mint dark chocolate is good though it's just mint flavor choco.

Some Skittles have gelatin-others don't. The crazy core actually said gelatin free on the package. Other than gelatin I don't believe theres anything else to worry about.

At Christmas time Junior Mints put out Christmas colored ones that are identical without gelatin. I say e-mail them till they cave!
silva is online now  
#4 Old 07-16-2011, 03:34 PM
 
obankobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 500
<3 junior mints.

So sad. :'(

Disclaimer: I'm insane.
obankobi is offline  
#5 Old 07-16-2011, 11:08 PM
 
MarianasMermaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 29


Why you gotta break my heart, Jr. Mints?!

They do the gelatin-free ones for Easter, too. Has anyone written them? If not, I totally will.
MarianasMermaid is offline  
#6 Old 07-17-2011, 02:30 AM
 
ebonyvegetarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 197
How do u know it has gelatin? It doesn't say it anywhere in the ingredients

I used to avoid soy but ill consume a little if its organic and fermented lol
ebonyvegetarian is offline  
#7 Old 07-17-2011, 02:38 AM
 
IamJen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,134
It does on the ones I've looked at. From several websites:
Quote:
Junior Mints Ingredients: sugar, semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, soya lecithin – an emulsifier, vanillin – an artificial flavor), corn syrup, confectioner’s glaze, modified food starch, peppermint oil, invertase (an enzyme that breaks down sucrose into glucose and fructose), soya albumin (a natural form of water-soluble soy protein), gelatin

American Skittles (the red bag ones) should be vegan. I just looked when we were there about 3 weeks ago, and they were junk food for sure, but animal-free. http://www.zeer.com/Food-Products/Sk...213bae3e0d12cb. I don't really know about the sugar I suppose.

The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
IamJen is offline  
#8 Old 07-17-2011, 02:49 AM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 33,922
It's the very last ingredient too. The peppermint crunch ones that come out around Christmas have no gelatin. Are you reading an ingredients list on a box you own?
danakscully64 is offline  
#9 Old 07-17-2011, 05:52 AM
 
IamJen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,134
I wonder if the gelatin is only in the shell?

The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
IamJen is offline  
#10 Old 07-17-2011, 06:17 AM
 
runnerveggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,562
I think they recently dropped the gelatin, although I haven't looked at any labels recently. I think the coating contains confectioner's glaze, though.
runnerveggie is online now  
#11 Old 07-17-2011, 08:42 AM
 
Amy SF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 20,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunnerVeggie View Post

I think they recently dropped the gelatin, although I haven't looked at any labels recently. I think the coating contains confectioner's glaze, though.

Every time I check the ingredients on the box, I see gelatin listed.

*this space not for sale*
Amy SF is offline  
#12 Old 07-17-2011, 08:55 AM
 
runnerveggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy SF View Post

Every time I check the ingredients on the box, I see gelatin listed.

Yeah, a quick search shows that they are still listed as containing gelatin the few places I can find. Maybe it was just a rumor..
runnerveggie is online now  
#13 Old 07-17-2011, 01:54 PM
 
ebonyvegetarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 197
The one I buy at speedway and walmart do not have gelatin yay!

I used to avoid soy but ill consume a little if its organic and fermented lol
ebonyvegetarian is offline  
#14 Old 07-17-2011, 02:03 PM
 
runnerveggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonyvegetarian View Post

The one I buy at speedway and walmart do not have gelatin yay!

Do they have confectioner's glaze? It contains shellac, which comes from insects and isn't vegan. So..watch out before the vegan police come and throw you in the beegan looney bin like me..!
runnerveggie is online now  
#15 Old 07-17-2011, 02:07 PM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 33,922
Oh no, I see the vegan police coming. RUN!
danakscully64 is offline  
#16 Old 07-17-2011, 05:39 PM
 
karenlovessnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Home Sweet Home
Posts: 11,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy SF View Post

Every time I check the ingredients on the box, I see gelatin listed.

Same here.

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid...~Albert Einstein~
"Nothing tastes as good as kindness feels" - ~ElaineV~
karenlovessnow is offline  
#17 Old 07-17-2011, 05:52 PM
 
karenlovessnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Home Sweet Home
Posts: 11,423
I was pretty sure Trader Joe's dark chocolate after dinner mints were vegan...but an internet search is not turning up proof. I will have to check next time I'm there.

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid...~Albert Einstein~
"Nothing tastes as good as kindness feels" - ~ElaineV~
karenlovessnow is offline  
#18 Old 07-17-2011, 07:49 PM
 
fadeaway1289's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunnerVeggie View Post

Do they have confectioner's glaze? It contains shellac, which comes from insects and isn't vegan. So..watch out before the vegan police come and throw you in the beegan looney bin like me..!

Lol beegan lol. I'm sorry but that's just a funny word. It just sounds so odd.
fadeaway1289 is offline  
#19 Old 07-18-2011, 08:04 AM
 
ashlend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,126
I just got Skittles a few weeks ago at the movies after hearing they were vegan, and gelatin was listed on the bag. Very confusing.
ashlend is offline  
#20 Old 07-18-2011, 08:42 AM
 
runnerveggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,562
I think the issue might be that there are a lot of old candies floating around.
runnerveggie is online now  
#21 Old 07-18-2011, 11:53 AM
 
VegRunnerLady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 67
I know it's more convenient to buy the candies, but you can make your own junior mints. I made these for christmas one year and they were a big hit! You can even make different flavors.

http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=13189.0
VegRunnerLady is offline  
#22 Old 07-18-2011, 01:20 PM
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 4,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonyvegetarian View Post

The one I buy at speedway and walmart do not have gelatin yay!

I just saw a box without gelatin- but had confectioners glaze and invertase!
silva is online now  
#23 Old 08-07-2012, 06:54 AM
 
suki36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1

Hey!  I just started a petition on change.org to make Jr. Mints vegan!  Please sign it if you still miss Jr. Mints and wish they didn't have gelatin:  https://www.change.org/petitions/tootsie-roll-industries-make-jr-mints-vegan-get-the-pig-skin-cow-hides-bones-and-hooves-out

 

Thanks!

suki36 is offline  
#24 Old 08-07-2012, 07:38 AM
 
Kari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 388

I bought my husband Junior Mints without gelatin back in January at Dollar Tree.

Kari is offline  
#25 Old 08-07-2012, 08:56 AM
Not such a Beginner ;)
 
LedBoots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5,666
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhbMqjnYNfI

classic Seinfeld junior mint clip...
LedBoots is offline  
#26 Old 08-07-2012, 11:58 AM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 33,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by suki36 View Post

Hey!  I just started a petition on change.org to make Jr. Mints vegan!  Please sign it if you still miss Jr. Mints and wish they didn't have gelatin:  https://www.change.org/petitions/tootsie-roll-industries-make-jr-mints-vegan-get-the-pig-skin-cow-hides-bones-and-hooves-out

 

Thanks!

 

Yeah, I don't think they use gelatin anymore. All of the boxes I have picked up recently haven't have it.

danakscully64 is offline  
#27 Old 08-07-2012, 03:39 PM
Arrrg! Me mateys.
 
Puppet Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5,574
The Tootsie website is terrible and for some reason lists everything but the ingredients. brood.gif I know late last year they did still have gelatin and confectioner's glaze. My sister had a box and out of curiosity I checked to see if it was the same, and it was.

Now, if Andes were made vegan, my life may very well be complete.

korrakorrakorrakorrakorra
Puppet Master is offline  
#28 Old 08-07-2012, 05:55 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 24

I stopped ordering them from the movie theaters everytime I go cause I saw that gelatin is listed as an ingredient. I'm not sure if they dropped it. huh.gif

xteena is offline  
#29 Old 08-07-2012, 06:27 PM
 
runnerveggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,562
I've bought lots of junior mints in stores - they contain confectioners glaze but no gelatin. I'm not sure if movie theaters have old stock or if they continue to make some with gelatin, but gelatin free ones do exist.
runnerveggie is online now  
#30 Old 08-07-2012, 06:38 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 24

Really? I'll have to check that out soon then. I've been avoiding them all year long. Thanks!

xteena is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off