Responding to Intelligent Criticisms of Veganism...? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-27-2011, 04:42 PM
Banned

Hi, I'm Ben and I'm new to Veggieboards. I have been a vegan for almost a year now, and already I know how to brush off the usual arguments against veganism. But my roommate (who I actually respect a lot) pointed me to a couple of online articles/blog posts that present intelligent critiques of political veganism. I am a vegan mostly for ethical reasons, but I like to think that my actions have some sort of political effect. I want to be making a difference in the world, not just feeling better conscience-wise.

The first articleis specifically on veganism and argues that all of our dietary choices combined don't even make a dent in the factory-farming meat industry. It's kinda disheartening and I'm not sure how to respond.

The other post is from that same blog but is way longer, and only touches on veganism toward the end (you have to scroll down a lot), but makes some really mean criticisms about our lifestyle. I'm used to getting crap from conservative carnivores, but this guy seems to be a communist or something

Am I missing something obvious here or are these actually intelligent criticisms?? How should I (or we) respond to something like this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-27-2011, 04:48 PM
Beginner

I've never come across an intelligent criticism of the vegan principle of avoiding exploitation whenever possible. I don't think I ever will.

www.thesaucyvegan.com
#3 Old 04-27-2011, 04:56 PM
Banned

What is it about veganism or vegitarian that threatens people to the point of actually caring enough to try and come up with these articles?

seriously, even before I decided to go vegitarian, I cant recall giving anyone a hard time about their choice.
#4 Old 04-27-2011, 05:06 PM
Banned