Is there anything vegan at dairy queen? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 05-29-2010, 07:40 PM
Beginner
 
MACGRUBER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
I'm goin there tonight
MACGRUBER is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-29-2010, 07:55 PM
Beginner
 
FamousLadyJane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 109
Only if you get a salad with no dressing I believe
FamousLadyJane is offline  
#3 Old 05-29-2010, 08:27 PM
Beginner
 
saxyphonist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,250
According to a quick web search, their 'slushies' (or whatever the heck they're calling them now) are vegan.

don't take my life away, don't take my life away.
saxyphonist is offline  
#4 Old 05-29-2010, 10:23 PM
Beginner
 
Discobanditt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 279
According to the below source, the Arctic Rush (previously the Mr. Misty) is vegan.



http://www.veganeatingout.com/dairyqueen.html
Discobanditt is offline  
#5 Old 05-30-2010, 09:35 AM
Beginner
 
Christine2809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 261
The Starkisses!!!!



They are SO good! They're star shaped popsicle things, but they're thicker and way better than a regular popsicle. Kind of like sherbet on a stick.



Sometimes they're not even on the menu, but ask for one. They have a cherry kind and a red white and blue one. I like the cherry better, but they're both good. With as good as they are, I'm really surprised they don't always have them on the menu or promote them better because anyone that I've known (vegan or not) that's tried one has loved it and never heard of it before.



Ahhh I believe I will now be stopping to pick one up today!
Christine2809 is offline  
#6 Old 05-30-2010, 11:28 AM
Beginner
 
janiejones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 743
I had absolutely no idea that there was anything vegan on the menu at all...My hometown doesn't have a DQ with a brazier, but my mom sometimes gets a whole bunch of starkisses to put in the freezer. Good to know if she offers me one!
janiejones is offline  
#7 Old 05-30-2010, 11:33 AM
Arrrg! Me mateys.
 
Puppet Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annette Parkes View Post

If their french fries are vegan (according to that website) then are the onion rings as well?



With most places that have onion rings, they are never vegan, and many times not even vegetarian.

korrakorrakorrakorrakorra
Puppet Master is offline  
#8 Old 05-30-2010, 11:36 AM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 33,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annette Parkes View Post

If their french fries are vegan (according to that website) then are the onion rings as well?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Puppet Master View Post

With most places that have onion rings, they are never vegan, and many times not even vegetarian.



Yeah, onion rings are often made with milk and eggs.
danakscully64 is offline  
#9 Old 05-30-2010, 12:12 PM
Beginner
 
tdiprincess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 601
Good to know since hubby LOVES dairy queen!
tdiprincess is offline  
#10 Old 05-30-2010, 06:32 PM
Beginner
 
VegRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 148
My first thought when I read the title of the thread was "errr, maybe water?" I am glad to know that even a restaurant that has "dairy" in the name has at least a couple vegan options, maybe there is hope yet!
VegRN is offline  
#11 Old 05-30-2010, 06:39 PM
mlp
Banned
 
mlp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8,995
Their fat free Italian and French dressings are also vegan, I believe.



I had one of their strawberry/kiwi slushes today - refreshig and not super sweet. (I hate stuff that's really sweet.)
mlp is offline  
#12 Old 05-30-2010, 06:58 PM
HNV
Beginner
 
HNV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annette Parkes View Post

If their french fries are vegan (according to that website) then are the onion rings as well?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Puppet Master View Post

With most places that have onion rings, they are never vegan, and many times not even vegetarian.



Quote:
Originally Posted by danakscully64 View Post

Yeah, onion rings are often made with milk and eggs.



Unfortunately. Every onion ring I have ever looked at, has had whey in it... I miss onion rings



I would try and make them myself, but even the bread crumbs I have looked at, have some sort of animal product in it..

The worst sin toward our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them. That is the essence of humanity.
HNV is offline  
#13 Old 05-30-2010, 07:33 PM
Beginner
 
dirtytreehugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiNiceVegan View Post

Unfortunately. Every onion ring I have ever looked at, has had whey in it... I miss onion rings



I would try and make them myself, but even the bread crumbs I have looked at, have some sort of animal product in it..



Make your own bread crumbs!
dirtytreehugger is offline  
#14 Old 05-30-2010, 07:35 PM
HNV
Beginner
 
HNV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtytreehugger View Post

Make your own bread crumbs!



Then there becomes the food that I want that is just too much trouble to make. So I will do without.

The worst sin toward our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them. That is the essence of humanity.
HNV is offline  
#15 Old 05-31-2010, 06:52 AM
Beginner
 
Cedre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiNiceVegan View Post

Then there becomes the food that I want that is just too much trouble to make. So I will do without.



use panko! Mmmm...it'll become even crispier!!
Cedre is offline  
#16 Old 05-31-2010, 12:34 PM
HNV
Beginner
 
HNV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedre View Post

use panko! Mmmm...it'll become even crispier!!

\\]





I have not found any vegan panko.. Every single brand I have looked at has eggs in it.

The worst sin toward our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them. That is the essence of humanity.
HNV is offline  
#17 Old 05-31-2010, 12:52 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Discobanditt View Post

According to the below source, the Arctic Rush (previously the Mr. Misty) is vegan.



http://www.veganeatingout.com/dairyqueen.html



This is correct. I went last week with some friends. I felt guilty that I was eating processed crap/high fructose corn syrup sugary fail... but the lemon/lime slush was yummy REALLY too sweet imo... maybe I should have asked for 1/10 of a squirt of the syrup.



As for their fried foods like french fries... McDonald's flavours theirs with beef iirc... so ask what they flavour the fries with, if they fry meat in the same oil, if the oil is plant based, and if the onion ring batter is made up of vegan ingredients.
KrisMTL is offline  
#18 Old 05-31-2010, 01:06 PM
Beginner
 
yumy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 468
yea like Kris said, most fast food places are going to fry the french fries or onion rings in the same oil they fry their fish or meat.
yumy is offline  
#19 Old 05-31-2010, 07:23 PM
Beginner
 
Christine2809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 261
I made onion rings one time with the recipe that PETA had in their Vegetarian Starter Kit for the chicken fingers (we also made chicken fingers with the batter) and they were really good.



There weren't any bread crumbs in the recipe. Here's a link. http://www.cestlavegan.com/2010/02/f...icken-fingers/
Christine2809 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off