VeggieBoards banner

Vegan Food in NH? Or vegan breakfast @ a restaurant?

1K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  myrtlemaneet 
#1 ·
I recently moved here (near Winnepesaukee) and it seems like there are only steak houses around. I have a friend coming up to visit who wants to go out for breakfast. I called one of the only restaurants with a menu online and it looks like I could maybe get hashbrowns (though I don't know if they cook them in the same oil as the meat) and the fruit cup. They couldn't tell me if the toast or cereal was vegan - they did offer for me to bring my own food and have them cook it, lol.

Or maybe help me think of some items that would be vegan for breakfast at a restaurant? I'm new to veganism (10 years vegetarian), so maybe I'm just not thinking outside the box?

#2 ·
When I find myself stuck at a steakhouse for dinner, I usually think of a really great way to eat a baked potato. Have them add some grilled veggies to it with some salt, pepper, and maybe some barbeque sauce!

Also, sometimes the "butter spread" packages you get don't actually have milk products in them (weird, I know)

#3 ·
Some baked potatoes are rolled in bacon fat or other pig-flesh stuff, I've heard.

As far as breakfast, I would go for fresh fruit. If you want something cooked, oatmeal (make sure it's not packages or premade or that they add cow milk). Usually even if I get a fruit plate, just to make sure my food isn't ruined and animals aren't harmed by my throwing something away, I say, "No yogurt, no cream, no milk, no sauce" because sometimes they put a scoop of white crap on your plate.

Most places should also have spinach. I find a salad rounds out a fruit breakfast very well if you're still hungry. So spinach or mixed greens and fruit is perfect.

Oatmeal if they have it.

They might have add-ons to the oatmeal like nuts (again, you have to make sure it's just nuts, so annoying at times!), peanut butter, brown sugar, soymilk, cinnamon, apples.

#6 ·