Vegan Gum? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 08-15-2009, 10:37 AM
Beginner
 
nicolettebeach8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36
I had a half eaten pack of Stride gum that I had bought before going vegan(tomorrow will be a week!) and I saw that there was animal products in it so of course I tossed it. What gums are vegan friendly i.e.brands/specific flavors?
nicolettebeach8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 08-15-2009, 01:11 PM
Beginner
 
Bells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,659
I think some of Orbits gums are vegan, but I'm not sure. I don't chew gums like Orbit, Trident, Dentyne, ect. because of artificial flavoring, colors, and sweeteners.



Ecodent Between! gum is one of my favorites brands of chewing gum. It comes in three different sugar-free flavors- wintergreen, cool mint, and cinnamon- and is completely vegan. I buy it off of Amazon in 12 packs.
Bells is offline  
#3 Old 08-16-2009, 05:56 PM
Beginner
 
AddieB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,705
What does Stride have in it?
AddieB is offline  
#4 Old 08-16-2009, 06:06 PM
Beginner
 
pajamajes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 546
OH. MY. GOD.



Gum isn't vegan?!?!?



I'm a gum addict!
pajamajes is offline  
#5 Old 08-16-2009, 06:23 PM
Beginner
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Check this site out may help. Did some searching.

http://www.wrigley.com.au/AboutWrigley/FAQs.asp#13
GhostUser is offline  
#6 Old 08-16-2009, 06:41 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,552
gum has glycerine in it- sometimes thats vegetable in source- some packets even label it as such. its also sometimes got stuff like shellac/confectioners glaze on it, little crystals made of whoknowswhat sprinkled on there, liquid centres of dubiousness, and so on.
jeneticallymodified is offline  
#7 Old 08-16-2009, 08:38 PM
Beginner
 
thefiddlerscall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 119
Dentyne fire is vegan I'm pretty sure. It has vegetable glycerin and no aspartame.
thefiddlerscall is offline  
#8 Old 08-17-2009, 02:12 AM
Beginner
 
RockabillyVegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 504
I believe all of orbits gum is vegan except for the one with those little blue dots in it, I forget what it's called, but it's a minty gum with blue dots that contains gelitin....all the other ones (not sure about the ultra new ones though) are vegan.
RockabillyVegan is offline  
#9 Old 08-17-2009, 02:27 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,981
Here are some vegan chewing gums:

http://www.veganessentials.com/catal...-gum-packs.htm



http://vegan.redtag-sale.com/Peelu-D...ource=GB&id=uk



Lots are listed here, too:

http://www.peta.org/accidentallyVega...ategory=Snacks



Orbitz, Everest, Bubble Gum Tape, Big League Chew, Super Bubble, etc.
MrFalafel is offline  
#10 Old 08-17-2009, 05:40 PM
Beginner
 
nicolettebeach8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36
Quote:
liquid centres of dubiousness,



teehee. Addie, if memory serves me correctly I believe it had glycerine. It didn't say what the source was so I gave it to my omni sister. Sadly, it was very tasty!
nicolettebeach8 is offline  
#11 Old 08-17-2009, 06:22 PM
Beginner
 
Doktormartini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,457
If I chew gum I use this:

http://bfreshgum.com/



Question: I'm dumb, but why isn't regular floss vegan?

“May all sentient beings be free of pain and suffering.  May all sentient beings experience eternal joy and happiness.  gate gate pāragate pārasaṃgate bodhi svāhā.”
http://www.facebook.com/doktormartini
http://twitter.com/#!/MartyBaureis
http://doktormartini.tumblr.com

Doktormartini is offline  
#12 Old 08-17-2009, 10:49 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doktormartini View Post

If I chew gum I use this:

http://bfreshgum.com/



Question: I'm dumb, but why isn't regular floss vegan?



wax made of bees?
jeneticallymodified is offline  
#13 Old 08-24-2009, 06:09 AM
Beginner
 
Doktormartini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoodedclawjen View Post

wax made of bees?

Ohhh ok, I gotcha! Thanks

“May all sentient beings be free of pain and suffering.  May all sentient beings experience eternal joy and happiness.  gate gate pāragate pārasaṃgate bodhi svāhā.”
http://www.facebook.com/doktormartini
http://twitter.com/#!/MartyBaureis
http://doktormartini.tumblr.com

Doktormartini is offline  
#14 Old 08-24-2009, 10:58 AM
Beginner
 
raw_vegan_chic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
raw_vegan_chic is offline  
#15 Old 08-24-2009, 12:49 PM
Beginner
 
kuhliloach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doktormartini View Post

If I chew gum I use this:

http://bfreshgum.com/



You beat me to it. B-fresh is my favorite chewing gum.
kuhliloach is offline  
#16 Old 06-11-2010, 11:41 AM
Beginner
 
hang on tomato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
I know this thread is old. But, I did a google search to see if Stride is vegan.



I got all kinds of mixed answers from various websites. Therefore, I emailed their customer service via their website. I asked if any of the ingredients within the label (glycerin and gum base specifically) were derived from any animal sources or by-products. I also specifically asked about Stride Mega Mystery, as you must select a specific flavor. But, I asked an open question about ALL of their gum flavors.



Their response:



"Thank you for contacting us about Stride Mega Mystery. Your comments and inquiries are appreciated because they provide valuable feedback about our brands.



There are no animal by-products in this gum.



Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We hope that you will continue to purchase and enjoy our products.



Sincerely,



Consumer Relations"



Just wanted to add that to this thread, in case anyone else (like me) happens to google this in the future.



So...take or leave their answer. It's up to the chewer.
hang on tomato is offline  
#17 Old 03-21-2011, 05:16 PM
Beginner
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 4,547
Very good reason to update this debate!
I found Stride ****mint (left pack at work!) with B6 and B12!
I was searching for vegan quality on google, and it led to this thread!

As long as the above-"no animal by-products" is still in effect, what a great way to supplement! 25% RDA of B12!
Very tasty.
silva is online now  
#18 Old 03-21-2011, 06:09 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,430

deleted

Beetlejuice is offline  
#19 Old 03-21-2011, 06:54 PM
Beginner
 
SeitanWorship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by silva View Post

Very good reason to update this debate!
I found Stride ****mint (left pack at work!) with B6 and B12!
I was searching for vegan quality on google, and it led to this thread!

As long as the above-"no animal by-products" is still in effect, what a great way to supplement! 25% RDA of B12!
Very tasty.

I cannot possibly imagine what word was censored out there. It sounds like some very angry mint if it's got a curse word in the name. :P
SeitanWorship is offline  
#20 Old 03-21-2011, 06:55 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,430
deleted
Beetlejuice is offline  
#21 Old 03-21-2011, 08:33 PM
Beginner
 
Eonblue462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockabillyVegan View Post

I believe all of orbits gum is vegan except for the one with those little blue dots in it, I forget what it's called, but it's a minty gum with blue dots that contains gelitin....all the other ones (not sure about the ultra new ones though) are vegan.

xylotine?

Our Generation has had no Great war, no Great Depression. Our war is spiritual. Our depression is our lives.
Eonblue462 is offline  
#22 Old 03-26-2011, 12:00 PM
Beginner
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeitanWorship View Post

I cannot possibly imagine what word was censored out there. It sounds like some very angry mint if it's got a curse word in the name. :P

Haha, it's Kinetic Mint!
I don't know what's worse, the sugar to my teeth, or the artificle sugar? It's got the "phenly...: something warning.
silva is online now  
#23 Old 03-26-2011, 02:07 PM
Beginner
 
Doktormartini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by RabbitLuvr View Post

I wish there was a non-sugarfree gum with the added B12.

The artificial sweeteners in sugar-free gum give me really bad, extremely painful bloating and gas. I can't chew one piece without being in agony for the rest of the day. I can only chew "regular" gum with sugar.

B-Fresh has Xylitol which isn't artificial, prevents cavities, and the gum has b12 in it and it's labeled vegan.

“May all sentient beings be free of pain and suffering.  May all sentient beings experience eternal joy and happiness.  gate gate pāragate pārasaṃgate bodhi svāhā.”
http://www.facebook.com/doktormartini
http://twitter.com/#!/MartyBaureis
http://doktormartini.tumblr.com

Doktormartini is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off