College Vegetarian - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-08-2007, 09:08 AM
Beginner

Im pretty new to the veggie world, just starting over my winter break which was easy because i was at home. But now that I am back at college its a whole different thing. Im not loaded with money, as to I am a student, so I usually have to resort eating at the schools dining halls. They don't offer much more than fruits and salads, which can get old after eating them so often. I was just wondering if I could get any advice on this issue as to what to do to mix up my diet?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-08-2007, 09:21 AM
Beginner

What does the dining hall offer? Any pastas? Veggie sandwiches? Pizza? Ask them to stock veggie burgers, or tofu on a salad bar. See if they will create a "vegetarian dish of the day". Ask them to stock healthy, hearty cereals and soymilk. IF you are paying for a student meal plan, they should cover your dietary requirements.
#3 Old 02-08-2007, 09:43 AM
Beginner

Are you vegan? Your college is way behind the times if they only vegetarian option is fruit and salad. Mine is pretty bad, but they always have cheese pizza, grilled cheese, and noodles with marinara sauce.

There should be some sort of comment card for you to give the cafeteria complaints and suggestions. I would suggest asking for more veg options. If they don't have one, take it to student services or the equivalent at your school.