How much protein? - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By silva
  • 2 Post By jessandreia

#1 Old 07-23-2017, 05:55 PM

How much protein?

I'm new to being vegan. I absolutely know that you don't need meat or any other animal based food to get it. I'm just curious how much protein you actually need? There is so much mixed information out there about it. I work out everyday...not hard core, but 30 minutes of weights or cardio everyday, when looking it up on line that could vary from needing 30 grams to 140 grams...or more everyday.

For those that have been following a vegan lifestyle for years, with maybe a moderate workout schedule, what do you find you need? Oh, I'm not afraid of fat or carbs. I do am doing a 30/30/40 at the moment. Fat/protein/carbs.

Just a side note...I'm coming off off of being a dairy free keto diet. Once I learned I couldn't do eggs...I decided to go vegan. After lots of research on our digestive system, arteries, animal farms...etc. you all know what I'm taking about.

Last edited by Troopwife1; 07-23-2017 at 05:56 PM. Reason: Grammer
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 07-23-2017, 06:05 PM
Super Moderator

I easily get between 50 and 60 a day. Haven't tracked my diet in some time so unsure about the percentages of others.
Have you tried Silks Protein Nut Milk?
https://silk.com/products/protein-nutmilk
Soy free, 10 grams protein and only 2 grams sugar. verytasty

Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good
#3 Old 07-23-2017, 07:35 PM
Veggie Regular

I find that I feel I have more energy and feel more focused when I have at least around 70 grams a day, give or take.

I just very recently started using myfitnesspal, and yesterday just between lunch and dinner, I had close to 60 grams. The day before, I had close to 90 grams for the day. Wasn't trying to get that much; it was just from foods I felt like eating that day.