Cookbooks/Menu Ideas - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-27-2012, 04:15 PM
Beginner

I am just starting out on a new Vegetarian Lifestyle. My husband and children are supportive, but not on board with me. I am looking for suggestions of cookbooks for easy vegetarian recipes for one and sample menu ideas for someone just starting out.

Thanks!

Malea
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-27-2012, 04:49 PM
Beginner

I'm new to Vegetarianism also, but I've been a cook for many years and I like cookbooks.
One of the first things I did was go to my local library and check out almost all the Vegetarian cookbooks they had.
So far I like all the books I've read by Isa Chandra Moskowitz.
She's written (list taken from Wikipedia):
Vegan with a Vengeance, 2005 (ISBN 1569243581)
Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, with Terry Hope Romero, 2006 (ISBN 1569242739)
Veganomicon, with Terry Hope Romero, 2007 (ISBN 156924264X)
Vegan Brunch, 2009 (ISBN 0738212725)
Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, with Terry Hope Romero, 2009 (ISBN 160094048X)
Appetite for Reduction, 2010 (ISBN 9781600940491)
Vegan Pie in the Sky, 2011 (ISBN 9780738212746)

I've read and used 3 of them so far and my favorites in order are:
Appetite for Reduction, Veganomicon and then Vegan Brunch.
I have a hold (coming from another library) on Vegan with a Vengeance and I'm very impatient for it to come.

I am going to buy Appetite for Reduction to add to my personal collection and I'm pretty sure I'll be getting the Veganomicon also.

I am my own bad companion

#3 Old 04-29-2012, 12:09 PM
Beginner

The Whole Foods Market CookBook (Wholefoods)
Vegetarian Cooking - A CommonSense Guide (Bay Books)
New Vegetarian Cuisine (Prevention Magazine)
New Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens)
Allrecipes.com

The Whole Foods and Better Homes and Gardens cookbooks aren't strictly vegetarian, but they have so many vegetarian dishes, they're two of my favorites. I have others, but these are the ones I use daily/weekly.