New Vegetarian with meat lover husband ! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 03-15-2010, 04:28 PM

Hi all. I am new to vegetarianism and I have some questions. I have always eaten meat and just recently ( the past 4 months) started changing my diet towards a semi vegetarian diet. I started by slowly taking out red meat then pork and now I eat only seafood and chicken and am trying to end that too. So my question is ...How do/did you all do it? Did you just go cold turkey so to speak and just give up meat all at once or did you slowly take it out of your diet?

Then for what I consider my biggest problem.... I live in a house with three boys and a hubby whos favorite foods are steak ,steak, and more steak ! I have tried many times to get them all to change their eating habits but its proven all but impossible. Since I am the one that started them eating this way , I feel bad that I can't help them to change. My DH insist he will never give up meat .

My 15 year old son is actually the one who talked me into trying to go vegetarian but the constant nag from his dad ( and sadly at times , me) that he wasn't eating enough or he looks tired and wasn't getting enough fuel for his lifestyle ( boxing/ MMA etc.) and soon he was back to meat with a vengence.

So my questions ...Can a vegetarian lifestyle be OK for an athlete like my son ? He is into MMA and hard core sports. Does he need meat to sustain that?

Also to the vegetarians with families that don't want to change do you still cook meat for them ?

I want to help them change the way they eat but I am their mom and feel the need to cook it for them regardless of if I am eating it or not. I don't want to allienate my DH and kids simply because they choose to eat differently than I want us to eat.

Help please
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-15-2010, 05:26 PM