Artists - Where do you buy your supplies? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 11-30-2011, 12:40 AM
Beginner

We don't have any store in my city dedicated to art supplies. Where can you pick up canvasses, brushes, paints, etc? Also any recommendations for a complete newb? I literally no nothing about this stuff like what's good to buy...I know I don't want to do watercolor but outside of that I don't know the first thing about any of it. I have just had a desire lately to paint for some reason. Any help would be appreciated. Also, I'd rather not order online right now but could if I have to.

i hear in my mind all of these voices
i hear in my mind all of these words
i hear in my mind all of this music
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-17-2011, 09:12 PM
Beginner

Well, I know Pat Catans in my area as well as Micheals sells art related items. They have them here in Ohio, not sure about where you live though. Good luck finding things.

On a side note, you can make art beautifully with even the cheapest of tools. I've known artists to use just like dollar water colors and still pull off some pretty amazing art.

~ Kei Graves ~

#3 Old 12-17-2011, 11:04 PM
Beginner

Try an office supply store for art supplies. I used to work in a place that mostly did staplers and photocopying, but they also had canvases and acrylics for whatever reason. Also if you're just learning, I wouldn't waste money on canvases yet anyway. Go to a hardware store and buy squares of a smooth board and paint on those, great for learning

If that doesn't work, try ebay I suppose, you can get some stuff so cheap on there. I use golden acrylics, great brand but on the slightly more expensive end so probably not for starting.

Good luck and be sure to share
#4 Old 12-18-2011, 12:00 AM
Beginner

Aaron Brothers, which is a frame store, has art supplies. So does Michael's.