can you pack cooked quinoa in a pan and then fry it like polenta? - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-14-2014, 10:46 AM

can you pack cooked quinoa in a pan and then fry it like polenta?

Well... so basically, that's the question. I am new to all these grains. I know polenta can be let set, sliced and fried, so can millet. How about quinoa? I am not a good or enthusiastic cook and I am best at simple recipes. Thanks for your advice!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-14-2014, 11:36 AM
Not such a Beginner ;)

Here's a recipe. You can skip making the bbq sauce and do whatever you like with the polenta or used bottled bbq for easiness.
http://www.straightupfood.com/blog/2...nta-bbq-sauce/
#3 Old 06-14-2014, 11:40 AM

Awesome, thanks. The thing I should have said was, my doctor has said I am sensitive to corn, so I am looking for a recipe with just quinoa right now. Will this recipe work with just quinoa, does it have the right consistency? Thanks.

#4 Old 06-14-2014, 12:31 PM
Super Moderator

Quinoa isn't a grain but a seed. Once it soaks up water it doesn't "mush" together like grains would, so I could see adding it to other things that would bind.
First thought is garbanzo flour-besan. You can make a dish very much polenta, made the same way. Besan is a very versatile bean flour.

I LOVE these kinds of questions! While searching for the besan polenta recipe I found this site:
http://www.mynaturalfamily.com/recip...flour-recipes/
You should try the chickpea tofu mixed with quinoa-although I have seen better laid out recipes for that. I liked the vegan mxxtballs myself.

This is a basic recipe for Socca-chickpea flour pancakes, from Vegetarian Times:
Summertime Socca
Serves 4

1 cup chickpea flour
2 cups water
2 Tbs. olive oil, divided
1 tsp. salt

1. Combine flour, water, 1 Tbs. olive oil, and salt in a bowl. Whisk until smooth and frothy, then let rest for at least 1 hour. The batter will retain a very wet consistency.