Vegan Squash, Chickpea, and Coconut Curry - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 2 Post By mybell
  • 2 Post By Ashalicious
  • 1 Post By MaddieR523

#1 Old 04-09-2015, 01:44 PM

Vegan Squash, Chickpea, and Coconut Curry

This is easy to make in your slow cooker and it's super healthy! Included in the article and recipe is health and medicinal information for turmeric, a key ingredient in curry powder.
http://mybell.hubpages.com/hub/Squas...t-Curry-Recipe
Naturebound and tokyobags like this.

Last edited by mybell; 04-09-2015 at 03:08 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-23-2015, 06:02 PM
Formerly Sick-Now Healthy

Looks delish!

EatPlant-Based.com
#3 Old 01-11-2016, 01:25 PM

Do I need to soak my dried chick peas first, before adding them? Or can I just add them to the crock pot? I've never worked with dried chick peas before....wondering if I need to zip back to the market and get canned ones.

#4 Old 01-11-2016, 02:07 PM
Tom
Veggie Regular

^^^ In my experience, chick peas are one of the beans that take longer to cook, compared to navy or pinto beans. I always soak them. They would cook without presoaking, but it would take them longer and the other things in the stew would probably be overcooked.

EDITED TO ADD: I read the recipe and it doesn't say anything about presoaking. I don't know if that was an error, but the directions don't say to soak them first. (This recipe sounds yummy BTW- too bad I've already cooked the butternut squash I grew this past summer.)

EDITED TO ADD AGAIN: correction: it sounds yummy except for the addition of cilantro at the end. But if you like the stuff, enjoy! I'll just leave it out if I make this, or maybe substitute parsley. I still think the chickpeas should be soaked first though.

Peasant (1963-1972) and Fluffy (1970s?-1982- I think of you as 'Ambrose' now)- Your spirits outshone some humans I have known. Be happy forever.

Last edited by Tom; 01-11-2016 at 02:14 PM.
#5 Old 01-11-2016, 02:16 PM