Questions to ask the nutritionist - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 12-08-2006, 10:32 AM

Ok, I have my first meeting with the nutritionist/dietician person on Monday, and I was wondering what I should ask her? I'm supposed to be trying to gain weight, but I'm scared to. I'm scared to go to the nutritionist too. I don't know what she will say, but at least if I have some questions to ask, then I might not look like such an idiot. So can anyone out there help me with this? Any questions that you think I should ask?

Alternatively, any advice on what to expect? I've never done this before. The doctor wants to see me the next day too.

Thanks guys, I appreciate your support.

pirate x
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-08-2006, 10:56 AM

Hiya...I've seen several nutritionists about weight gain, at least 4, and they've all been really different, so I don't know that I can give any specific advice. It depends on how "vegan friendly" they are, etc.

I think your best bet is to go in with a written copy of a few days worth of your food intake, and have the nutritionist show you ways to increase calories without increasing volume (to avoid getting overly full, which is a big challenge for me).

I would definitely ask about what TYPES of foods to increase...do you need more protein? Fat? Plain old starch?

Really, I would narrow in on the issues you've had with weight gain, and the challenges...is it that you feel too full to eat lots? Are you counting calories? Do you dislike certain foods? Then base your questions and conversations around those personal issues.

Good luck, keep me updated!
#3 Old 12-08-2006, 11:04 AM

I do count calories, and I also keep a food diary Probably I shouldn't, but hey. Maybe I'll take a copy of my diary in (but without the other stuff that gets written in it). Just present it to them and shout "help!".

Oh, I feel like I'm being a real wuss about this - am I, or is it normal to be so nervous?
#4 Old 12-08-2006, 12:30 PM