14-year vegetarian craving chicken...why?? - VeggieBoards - A Vegetarian Community
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-18-2010, 07:16 PM
Beginner

Hello... I have been a vegetarian for 14 years (though I do currently eat fish, so I know most of you won't call me a "vegetarian"). I eat no red meat, poultry, pork, etc and haven't for 14 years. I used to not eat fish, either, but was unable to get proper nutrition (though I tried) so I eat fish (less often than I used to) now. Recently I've been having pretty intense cravings for chicken. This has happened once before and eventually went away. I'm sure I can wait it out this time too, but my question is - what on earth could be making me crave chicken? Is there something I'm missing? I consider myself to have a fairly balanced diet - I'm an organic farmer, so during the season it's all fresh veggies, my own eggs, local organic milk, etc...in the winter I freeze a lot of my own stuff. I eat cheese and tofu and beans and all that goodness. I don't like to eat processed fake meat type stuff. I don't eat fish often but occasionally. So - is there anything specific in chicken (I can't think of anything) or could I possibly be just not getting enough iron or protein?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-18-2010, 07:24 PM
Beginner

Sounds like you aren't getting enough calories from fruit. You didn't list fruit at all.

No, chicken's flesh has nothing magical you're missing, nor does fish flesh.
#3 Old 04-19-2010, 07:25 AM
Beginner

Sometimes I think I crave meat, but really I'm craving the sauces/spices that meat is cooked in. Grilling up a delicious meaty portobello mushroom burger with garlic, basil and oregano, or some sautéed Morningstar Farms chicken strips really helps me out with cravings. I agree with penny, there is nothing special in chicken that your body has to have that you can't get elsewhere.
#4 Old 04-19-2010, 07:32 AM
Banned

After 14 years you'd think you'd have forgotten what it tastes like, lol