Silly but - hold in your stomach muscles? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-05-2010, 03:01 AM

Okay, I'm not exactly a fitness pro haha but I've recently added fitness dvds to my exersise regime - but in the exersises they keep saying "hold your stomach muscles in" and "keep your tummy tight". What does this MEAN? I honestly have no idea, maybe I'm doing it without realising? Do you tense your stomach muscles?

clearly I'm not very good at this! Sorry to be silly, but can anyone explain?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-05-2010, 03:28 AM

http://www.videojug.com/film/how-to-...nder-9-minutes
#3 Old 02-05-2010, 03:38 AM

Yes, it's like holding the abdominal wall up, not just sucking your stomach in. It takes a bit of practice though, especially the breathing.
#4 Old 02-05-2010, 04:30 AM

Your engaging your core. Take a deep breath in, then exhale with a "hissing" noise. You will feel your belly button being pulled in and up. Now hold this, and practice your breathing. It can be hard to get used to, but once you do it's wonderful.
#5 Old 02-05-2010, 10:08 AM

So, are you supposed to hold the stomach in while inhaling as well? I have problems with that when I'm trying to breathe through my diaphram (which I normally don't do).
#6 Old 02-05-2010, 11:03 AM

I had a hard time getting used to it, too. Keep practicing.
#7 Old 02-05-2010, 11:06 AM

Yes Christine, you are supposed to keep your core engaged the whole time you're doing repitions of an exercise. Practice it will your sitting at the computer. It will take some timw, but is well worth it. In a few weeks you'll wonder how you ever thought it was hard.
#8 Old 02-05-2010, 02:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subtitles View Post

Yes Christine, you are supposed to keep your core engaged the whole time you're doing repitions of an exercise. Practice it will your sitting at the computer. It will take some timw, but is well worth it. In a few weeks you'll wonder how you ever thought it was hard.