Linux users ahoy! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 12-31-2011, 12:37 PM
Beginner

I just wanted to find out if there were any Linux enthusiasts on this forum... What is your current distro, and for how long have you been using it?

I'm quite new to Linux, and right now I'm on Ubuntu 11.04, but I'll move on to anther distro in a little while... It'll probably be Kubuntu, one of the Mints or possibly Sabayon.

The media is the message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-31-2011, 01:25 PM
Beginner

Yeah, I think there are a couple of threads already. Anyway, I've got a netbook with the latest Ubuntu (11.10). I've used a couple of different distros in the past (openSUSE, Redhat). Redhat at work and that's also the distro running on the Veggieboards server.

I no longer post here after the disagreements and exodus related to the sale of VB back in 2012. (See my profile page.) 
#3 Old 12-31-2011, 02:12 PM
Beginner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indian Summer View Post

Yeah, I think there are a couple of threads already. Anyway, I've got a netbook with the latest Ubuntu (11.10). I've used a couple of different distros in the past (openSUSE, Redhat). Redhat at work and that's also the distro running on the Veggieboards server.

Been hearing lots of nice stuff about RHEL, and since I'll be setting up my own web server in a little while I'm looking at CentOS. But I'm really more familiar with Ubuntu, and Sabayon is also tempting, so I'm quite sure it'll be a close race...

The media is the message
#4 Old 01-01-2012, 09:51 AM
Beginner

Quote:

Yeah, I think there are a couple of threads already.

Sure, but I guess we can use a Linux mega-thread where we discuss the latest news from the Free and Open Source
world...

Did you for instance notice that the Mint guys now are going all the way and are forking Gnome3? Their fork is called Cinnamon, and you can read about it herehere.
Clem's (the guy behind Mint) explanation for their move can be found in this post.