Trader Joe's Reduced Fat Mayo - Vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 10-30-2008, 10:02 AM
Beginner

So after years of nayonaise and veganaise, we just couldn't take it anymore and I broke down and bought a jar of regular mayo at Trader Joe's. (we're vegetarian, so it wasn't a huge deal to us, but we try to avoid eggs)

I just looked at the now empty jar, and it's vegan! Someone can confirm by looking at the ingredients - I'm not an expert on the hidden non vegan ingredients.

Trader Joe's Reduced Fat Mayonnaise "eggless" "dairy free"

"Ingredients: Water, Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Corn Starch, Distilled Vinegar, Cider Vinegar, Soy Protein Isolate, Salt, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Onion Powder, Xantahn Gum, Natural Vitamin E, Natural Flavors, Oleoresin Paprika, Oleoresin Tumeric."

I checked out Oleoresin and it's just a type of concentrate....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-30-2008, 10:05 AM
Beginner

Vegan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajanew View Post

So after years of nayonaise and veganaise, we just couldn't take it anymore

What exactly could you "not take"?

"Yes! Live! Life's a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death!" Auntie Mame
#3 Old 10-30-2008, 10:17 AM
Banned

WOOHOO! we don't have a trader bo's here though. you're lucky.
#4 Old 10-30-2008, 10:20 AM
Beginner

The ingredients don't look altogether too different from that of Vegenaise...does it somehow taste radically different???
#5 Old 10-30-2008, 10:21 AM
Beginner

I'm not sure what we stopped liking. At first I loved veganaise and thought it was great, better than mayo even, but there was something about it after years and years that my husband and I would just stare at each other, stare at the jar and make a squishy face And I didn't like it in dips very much, although it was okay on sandwiches.

I really was a big fan and recommended it to everyone I know, but I guess we just grew apart?
#6 Old 10-30-2008, 10:21 AM
Beginner

Quote: