According to an e-mail reply from Wrigleys on Jan 5, 2005:
Dear Miss Hagens,
Thank you for writing to inquire about ingredients used in Wrigley products.
In answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the
U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy
At present, the only exceptions are Wrigley's Spearmint® and Extra® Polar IceTM
stick gums, Juicy Fruit® pellet gums and products produced by Amurol
Confections, Wrigley's wholly-owned subsidiary, prior to June 1, 2003. The
products formerly sold by Amurol, are now a part of the Wrigley family of
Some batches of Wrigley's Spearmint® gum contain a very small amount of gelatin.
Extra® Polar Ice gum contains tiny flavor beads encased in a microscopic layer
of gelatin, which is animal based. We have requested the development of a
gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being worked on by our supplier.
Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use shellac as a coating agent.
Hubba Bubba®, Bubble Tape®, Big League Chew®, Everest® and Dragon Fire® gum and
Reed's® and Velamints® mints, formerly produced by Amurol Confections, became a
part of the Wrigley product portfolio effective January 1, 2004. As of June 1,
2003 these products have been free of any animal based ingredients. While most
products manufactured before this June date are no longer on shelves, some
packages can still remain. The dating code for these products follow the format
YMDDMY and reflects the manufacture date. If your diet restricts any animal
based ingredients, please be sure to read the manufacture date, located on the
back of the packaging, to ensure you are purchasing a package produced after
June 1, 2003.
Thank you for your interest. We hope this information will be helpful.
WM. WRIGLEY JR. COMPANY
Consumer Affairs Coordinator