Orion Choco Pies - Vegetarian or Not? - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 05-06-2011, 02:57 PM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34,591
I bought a box at Wal-Mart and was excited that gelatin wasn't listed. I figured egg was used in place to make it marshmallow-y (like Marshmallow fluff). I searched online and found these:

http://k-popped.com/2009/01/orians-c...oplait-is-non/

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Does_choco...n_have_gelatin

The second link has a few different ingredients, so I'm wondering if it's regional or ingredients were just left out. Does anyone know about this? If you're a vegetarian, I wouldn't risk it.


danakscully64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 08-09-2012, 03:10 AM
 
ankitjain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
choco pie contains marshmallow which can only be made by gelatin, and gelatin's is made by bones and pig skin you can check it on link below: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin#Production so plz if u'r a veggie don't eat or buy products which contains gelatin!!! bye..tc!
ankitjain is offline  
#3 Old 08-09-2012, 09:50 AM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34,591

I threw them away last year, I think the label was missing that key ingredient. Gross.

danakscully64 is offline  
 
#4 Old 08-11-2012, 08:04 PM
 
feralheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by ankitjain View Post

choco pie contains marshmallow which can only be made by gelatin, and gelatin's is made by bones and pig skin you can check it on link below: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin#Production so plz if u'r a veggie don't eat or buy products which contains gelatin!!! bye..tc!
I dunno about these ones in particular, but not all marshmallowy fillings contain gelatin (the marshmallow fluff you can buy in a tub doesn't) however they usually have egg whites, so they're not vegan.

I remember years ago someone told me marshmallow fluff was vegan and I went to buy some and was sad to see it had egg whites sad.gif I guess that's ok for an ovo-lacto though.
feralheart is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off