Is the enzymes from cheese, meat? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 07-05-2009, 02:44 AM
 
aarlover20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
does it come from animals? is it bad for vegetarians to eat it?



sorry i'm just confused.
aarlover20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 07-05-2009, 02:53 AM
 
isowish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,858
The enzymes in cheese can be either calf rennet (from stomach lining of baby cows) OR artificially produced. It really depends on the cheese.
isowish is offline  
#3 Old 07-05-2009, 03:11 AM
 
aarlover20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
ahhh i read about it makes me really sad... idk what to do its hard to give up cheese for me, i thought as a vegetarian you can eat it.. almost everything has cheese.



i guess ill give it up.
aarlover20 is offline  
#4 Old 07-05-2009, 03:13 AM
 
isowish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by aarlover20 View Post

ahhh i read about it makes me really sad... idk what to do its hard to give up cheese for me, i thought as a vegetarian you can eat it.. almost everything has cheese.



like I said above, enzymes can be artificially produced, so some cheeses are vegetarian. If you say what country you're in, maybe someone will have suggestions for vegetarian cheeses in your area
isowish is offline  
#5 Old 07-05-2009, 07:40 AM
 
Earthly Delight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,503
MOST commercial cheeses seem to have bacterial rennet (vegetarian) its artesinal cheeses you buy behing the deli counter that are more likely to have calf rennet. Anything prepackaged is not only most likely to be bacterial but you can read the ingredients to check.



Best of luck!
Earthly Delight is offline  
#6 Old 07-05-2009, 12:07 PM
 
rissierissie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 423
Here's a list of vegetarian cheeses: http://cheese.joyousliving.com/CheeseListBrand.aspx



You don't have to give up.
rissierissie is offline  
#7 Old 07-05-2009, 08:13 PM
 
madhuram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 107
Or your best bet is to write to the company to inquire if the rennet is animal derived or microbial. I recently emailed Kraft and they replied almost immediately. BTW, they use microbial enzymes but the lipase is animal derived, so it's not vegetarian. I'm living in Canada, so wrote to Kraft Canada.
madhuram is offline  
#8 Old 07-05-2009, 11:38 PM
Banned
 
indyainfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 0
if it will be taken into a good amount it will not going to harm anybody



http://www.easymedfind.com
indyainfo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off