Are Candy Canes vegan? - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By vegnurse143
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 12-02-2005, 03:11 PM
 
wendymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Are Candy Cane's vegan? If not, what in them makes them not vegan? I'm having trouble finding info online, and I'd like to know if we can give our daughter this christmas-treat. (she's a nut allergic vegan so her diet is limited, we're lacto-ovo so we eat a bit more variety)



I figured all that was in them was sugar, corn syrup, colour and mint flavour?
wendymc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 12-02-2005, 03:19 PM
 
Amy SF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 20,217
Different candy companies make candy canes, so the ingredients depend on who makes them.

*this space not for sale*
Amy SF is offline  
#3 Old 12-02-2005, 07:36 PM
 
marleah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 427
Bob's Candy Canes (the kind that I actually just grabbed at Walmart today) seem to be (unless I am missing something) ... Sugar, corn syrup, citric acid, artificial flavor, red 40, red 40 lake, blue 1, yellow 5. These are the cherry kind.
marleah is offline  
 
#4 Old 12-03-2005, 07:56 PM
 
*Sunflower*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 684
The candy canes I have are vegan. They just have sugars, colors, and natural flavor, which has to be peppermint because it doesn't list peppermint. And they're called "natural peppermint" candy canes.
*Sunflower* is offline  
#5 Old 12-05-2005, 01:34 AM
 
Bunny Hugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,506
For the most part they're vegan, I very rarley (never actually) have seen non-vegan candy canes.
Bunny Hugger is offline  
#6 Old 03-09-2006, 04:29 PM
 
Bella95129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
An article in Vegetarian Times pointed out recently that many red dyes are made from crushed beetles, but unfortunately, they didn't specify which ones. So if it has a red dye, it may or may not be vegan...
Bella95129 is offline  
#7 Old 03-09-2006, 04:45 PM
 
KC_VeganVixen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 211
The red dye from beetles is carmine a.k.a. cochineal.

Red #40 is vegan, as far as I know.
KC_VeganVixen is offline  
#8 Old 03-09-2006, 05:26 PM
 
heabrook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
I thought some candy canes and mint candies have gelatin.
heabrook is offline  
#9 Old 03-09-2006, 05:30 PM
 
ynaffit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,058
red #40 comes from coal, and i've never seen candy canes (or any hard candy) with gelatin. the only likely issue with typical candy canes would be the sugar if you're concerned about bone char.
ynaffit is offline  
#10 Old 03-09-2006, 05:33 PM
 
heabrook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
I was researching that a bit further. On google, I found a web site of this company that uses gelatin from pig skin.



I didn't know gelatin could come from pig skin...



http://www.spanglercandy.com/
heabrook is offline  
#11 Old 03-10-2006, 10:57 AM
 
Elena99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,473
I think the basic ones are vegan, and the fancy ones are what to watch out for.
Elena99 is offline  
#12 Old 12-19-2008, 07:02 PM
 
Tonya229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
just to clarify though, after doing a little research on this very important question....the gelatin isn't used in the candy canes (phew!) but the circus peanuts. The candy canes are actually kosher.
Tonya229 is offline  
#13 Old 12-19-2008, 07:33 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,551
^^^ what now? there is such a thing as kosher gelatine, btw (made from fishes).
jeneticallymodified is offline  
#14 Old 10-30-2011, 03:27 AM
 
Larissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,184
All I'd check candy canes for is the glazing agent. Avoid 901 (beeswax) and 904 (shellac). The ones I have use 903 which is carnuba wax and that is vegan.
Larissa is offline  
#15 Old 12-12-2012, 12:28 PM
 
vegnurse143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1

would technically depend on the kind of sugar they use.  Sugar is processed over bone to make it white.

ChristinaH likes this.
vegnurse143 is offline  
#16 Old 12-26-2014, 07:43 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Arrow

Depends on the sugar they used to make it as a lot of sugar companies use bone char to filter sugar. Found this out recently and was like
ChristinaH is offline  
#17 Old 12-26-2014, 03:47 PM
Impeach the psychopath
 
Capstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,683
In the US, as I understand it, many cane sugars are filtered through bone char; beet sugar, however, is not processed this way, and is vegan.

"There is more wisdom in the song of a bird, than in the speech of a philosopher...." -Oahspe
"The thing is, you cannot judge a race. Any man who judges by the group is a pea-wit. You take men one at a time." -Buster Kilrain, The Killer Angels -Michael Shaara
"The fact is, none of us truly win, until we all win."

Last edited by Capstan; 12-26-2014 at 05:20 PM.
Capstan is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off