is hoisin sauce vegan? - VeggieBoards - A Vegetarian Community
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 06-13-2003, 07:46 PM
Beginner
 
sunshinemelissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 892
Is hoison sauce vegan? I want to make moo shoo tofu and am unsure about it. I don't even know what it is. All I know is it tastes good
sunshinemelissa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-13-2003, 10:05 PM
Beginner
 
Quizeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,180
Usually yes it is. But check the label, you never know with some companies.



It's a thick-ish sweet, dark reddish brown sauce. It's very tasty and usually easy to find in the Asian section of the market.
Quizeen is offline  
#3 Old 06-13-2003, 10:16 PM
Beginner
 
sunshinemelissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 892
thanks
sunshinemelissa is offline  
#4 Old 06-14-2003, 03:47 PM
Beginner
 
SunnyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,081
I hope it is, because I love it! It tastes to me like Indonesian kecap manis (sweet, syrupy soy sauce) -- don't know if it's really the same thing.
SunnyK is offline  
#5 Old 06-14-2003, 09:19 PM
Beginner
 
Marie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,150
I love hoisin sauce...
Marie is offline  
#6 Old 06-15-2003, 07:22 PM
Beginner
 
DrVeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 16
i mix equal parts of hoisin, peanut butter & water to make an awesome peanut sauce. i eat it with home-made spring rolls.
DrVeg is offline  
#7 Old 06-15-2003, 08:08 PM
Beginner
 
sunshinemelissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 892
yummy
sunshinemelissa is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off