Potassium metabisulfite - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-21-2005, 03:29 AM
Beginner

Anyone know the origin of this ingredient? A friend bought me some Welch's grape juice, and this is used as an ingredient. I can't find anything to say it isn't Vegan, but i'm not very good at this
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-21-2005, 04:21 AM
Beginner

i just looked this up in my Food Additives book and this is what is says:

"the same as sodium bisulfite. the additive is unsafe or very poorly tested. destroys vitamin B1. small amounts may cause asthma, anaphylactic shock; dangerous for asthma and allergy sufferers; has caused death; banned on fresh fruits and vegetables except potatoes."

i know that this doesn't really tell you if it's vegan or not, but maybe it will help decide if you even want to drink it.

ah, what the FDA allows to be put in our food... good luck!

erica
#3 Old 02-21-2005, 09:40 AM
Beginner

Quote:
Originally Posted by morgan View Post

"the same as sodium bisulfite. the additive is unsafe or very poorly tested. destroys vitamin B1. small amounts may cause asthma, anaphylactic shock; dangerous for asthma and allergy sufferers; has caused death; banned on fresh fruits and vegetables except potatoes."

i know that this doesn't really tell you if it's vegan or not, but maybe it will help decide if you even want to drink it.

erica

OMIGOD!

And they market this stuff to children - what the heck are they thinking?!
#4 Old 02-21-2005, 01:57 PM
Beginner

Quote:

erica

My response to that is: WTF?!

Well, I'm going to the store today. I'll get my own grape juice - one that doesnt have this in it
#5 Old 02-21-2005, 03:54 PM
Beginner