VeggieBoards banner

Broke (new) Vegetarian .... What are your groceries list?

10K views 57 replies 34 participants last post by  jeneticallymodified 
#1 ·
I want to go vegetarian, but I am EXTREMELY broke. I am a musician/student and I am literally doing the starving artist thing. So what are your grocery lists like? How can I eat healthly and cheaply?

#3 ·
Welp, I'm a student on a budget. A tight budget. This is what I usually buy.

*Store brand soy milk ( I dont buy much at a time because it goes bad before I can use it all)

*Cheap dry goods (lentils, whole wheat pastas, brown rice, and beans)

*Canned goods (Tomato sauce, tomato paste, and *some* beans) The other canned veggies are pretty horrid to me.

*Frozen vegetables (I recommend getting stuff like: green peppers, carrots, green beans, broccoli, and frozen veggie soup mixes) They're cheap, and they keep better than fresh. Its easy to make a quick veggie soup with frozen veggies, too.

*Fresh veggies that are cheap and don't go bad quick. (Russet potatoes, onions, garlic, celery, and sweet potatoes) You can buy these in larger quantities and wont have to worry about them going bad too fast.

*Fresh fruits - apples, oranges, etc. If you can, try buying them at a farmers market. You'll be supporting local farmers and buying quality fruits at a good price. If you cant do that or buy organic stuff, head to the local market and get cheaper fruits.

*Other items - I try to get tofu when its on sale really cheap..like a buck a carton. You can buy that in bulk and freeze it until ready to use.

*Seasonings/staples- I go to the dollar store and buy that kind of stuff. Just check the ingredient label and make sure its okay, and you're set.

*Breads - I buy two loaves of whole wheat bread when its on sale and freeze one loaf for later. It lasts longer that way.