I am going to just give a quick Update: Originally, Sushi was always Vegan. And Sushi that was not Vegan, had its own name, which was not Sushi. This is according to the Japanese native I spoke too. She was vehemently against the changes to Sushi that American have done, and said that dashi was not supposed to be found either in Sushi.
However, because chefs love to experimment and some of them have traveled the world and have decided to try new things, not all Sushi will be Vegan. American's version of Sushi has made the rounds with other chefs who have Sushi videos online. They do not even bother calling Sashimi, Sashimi, but instead have lumped everything together as "sushi". One chef tries to "sushi" various fast food items. :P
Also, in Japan, they often cook rice in Dashi, which contains Fish flakes (bonito). The Japanese lady I spoke to (who is a native from Japan) still claims that true, authentic Sushi is Vegan and does not contain Dashi either. However, every label still needs to be read, and the chef spoken too as you never know where they might add dashi or some other non-vegan ingredient. Chefs love to experiment. Fresh Salads are normally safe (without the dressings), but that is the only really "safe" food item these days - if you do not count cross-contamination.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Last edited by tpkyteroo luebeck; 09-20-2016 at 02:33 PM.
Reason: Clearer explanation