Chocolate for vegans - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 08-13-2014, 12:20 AM

Chocolate for vegans

Hello!

I'm making some peanut butter chocolate crisps with fudge, and I found out that some companies produce dark chocolate without milk in it (I'm quite new at this so it was surprising).

I found a brand, Nestle Plaistowe the finest dark, and in the ingredients it doesn't mention any kind of dairy, but when I looked it up online it said that it did contain milk solids. On the packet it definitely doesn't, which is incredibly confusing. The ingredients are sugar, cocoa mass, cocoa butter, emulsifiers (soy lecithin, 476), flavours. Also mentions that it is was made on equipment that processes products containing milk, wheat and tree nuts, and chocolate contains minimum 40% cocoa solids.

Do you think its alright to use?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-13-2014, 02:24 AM

I believe that Nestle is one of the companies less clear on the label. Aside from the questionable policies that take around the world. A company is not reliable for me
#3 Old 08-13-2014, 03:21 AM
Veggie Regular

Personally I avoid Nestle products for a variety of reasons, whether the product itself is vegan or not.

You might be able to find some decent chocolate bars or ingredients online through a vegan specific store such as this one:

http://store.veganessentials.com/chocolates-c54.aspx

Or this one:
http://www.veganstore.com/category/v...bars-and-boxes

Often times when I use chocolate I use off brand pure cocoa powder, or I buy solid raw cacoa nibs from a Whole Foods Coop. I have ordered chocolate bars from the two above links. A few times I have used ghirardelli brand chocolate bars that did not contain dairy or other animal products on the label but since some of their chocolate does that can be a bit iffy and I haven't taken the time to research this company so for all I know they could have practices as questionable as Nestle. Here is a VB thread about that too: