Parmesan Cheese Is NOT Vegetarian - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 02-27-2012, 06:21 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,587
http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandsty...-re-vegetarian

Quote:
Anyone familiar with the blank look on a waiter's face when asked if their pesto is vegetarian ("yes, pesto is just basil and pine nuts", "and parmesan?", "oh yes, and parmesan, but that's just cheese") will know that sometimes it is easier to avoid such dishes. Or, where parmesan's presence is not stated on the menu, hastily push any offending shavings to the side of your plate before they start to melt.

As it is, the law states that cheese is only allowed to be labelled Parmigiano Reggiano or parmesan (the widely used French name) if it meets a number of criteria, including being made using calf rennet. It's nothing new; parmesan has had Protected Designation of Origin status since 1996.

Avoid parmesan and inform restaurants that offer it as a vegetarian option.
luvourmother is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 02-27-2012, 06:26 AM
Beginner
 
.Goth-Alice.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A better Forum
Posts: 1,619
I have been saying this for a while.

When new veggies arrive looking for advice on the boards and people say 'cheese is fine' I tell them 'except parmesan'...and it falls on deaf ears *shrug*
.Goth-Alice. is offline  
#3 Old 02-27-2012, 08:05 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,430

deleted

Beetlejuice is offline  
#4 Old 02-27-2012, 08:12 AM
Beginner
 
.Goth-Alice.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A better Forum
Posts: 1,619
Its marked as veggie, but do the ingredients support that.
Ive seen products labelled as veggie and they have shellac,Whey or some other questionabley 'vegetarian' ingredient in them
.Goth-Alice. is offline  
#5 Old 02-27-2012, 08:20 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,430
deleted
Beetlejuice is offline  
#6 Old 02-27-2012, 08:21 AM
Beginner
 
.Goth-Alice.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A better Forum
Posts: 1,619
Oh...thats pretty weird
.Goth-Alice. is offline  
#7 Old 02-27-2012, 08:27 AM
Beginner
 
penny79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,947
vegan parmesan is vegetarian.
penny79 is offline  
#8 Old 02-27-2012, 09:21 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by RabbitLuvr View Post

Hello. This applies in the EU but NOT in the United States. From Wikipedia:

Outside Europe, most notably in the United States, commercially produced imitation cheeses may be legally sold under the generic name Parmesan, although there are substantial differences in terms of quality, taste and nutritional components. When sold in Europe, such cheese are obliged to use another name, such as Kraft's "pamesello italiano".[5]
.


This still doesn't address the fact that many restaurants (both in UK and US) label foods 'vegetarian' when they contain parmesan made with rennet. especially Italian food restaurants and pizza places. Just a heads up to veggies that eat cheese to always double check the source of the parmesan especially if you frequent nicer upscale places that use real parmesan or places that don't realize that many parmesan (and other cheeses) use rennet.
luvourmother is offline  
#9 Old 02-27-2012, 10:24 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,430

deleted

Beetlejuice is offline  
#10 Old 02-27-2012, 10:46 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by RabbitLuvr View Post

I was addressing your original post, which specifically talked about Parmesan in relation to European labeling laws, which do not apply in the United States. Some Parmesan available in the US *is* vegetarian, as it contains no rennet, and it's ok to call it Parm because we have different laws here.





Restaurant staff not knowing if the Parm (or other cheeses they serve) contain rennet is a completely different issue.


If you read the linked article in the original post, it also discusses the issue of restaurants serving non vegetarian parmesan cheese in vegetarian dishes. Even suggests leaving an informative card at the restaurants to let them know of their mistakes. So its pretty much the same issue, that many places serve parmesan that is not vegetarian.
luvourmother is offline  
#11 Old 02-27-2012, 12:38 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,430

deleted

Beetlejuice is offline  
#12 Old 02-27-2012, 01:21 PM
Beginner
 
Digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,900
I'm eating vegan these days so this doesn't actually apply to me anyway, but even when I was l/o vegetarian I didn't get my blood pressure up over the possibility of rennet in my cheese. We've got much larger battles to fight my friends, and I think such intense scrutiny over possible by-products serves only to detract from the overall message. Let's make this look easy, not hard.
Digger is offline  
#13 Old 02-27-2012, 06:40 PM
Beginner
 
Kindred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 361
That sucks I had no idea!
Kindred is offline  
#14 Old 02-28-2012, 04:55 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digger View Post

I'm eating vegan these days so this doesn't actually apply to me anyway, but even when I was l/o vegetarian I didn't get my blood pressure up over the possibility of rennet in my cheese. We've got much larger battles to fight my friends, and I think such intense scrutiny over possible by-products serves only to detract from the overall message. Let's make this look easy, not hard.


It is easy, just dont eat parmesan cheese
luvourmother is offline  
#15 Old 02-28-2012, 04:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by RabbitLuvr View Post

Actually, I did read the linked article, though clearly you haven't. The article specifically applies to the UK, and deals with labeling laws that do not necessarily apply outside of the EU.

I guess you could make this thread accurate by changing the title to SOME Parmesan isn't vegetarian, or my having it moved into the UK forum.

I don't understand how people consistently fail to understand that the article they read in a UK publication, which specifically references EU labeling requirements, does not necessarily apply in countries outside of the EU, despite repeated evidence that they're wrong.

I fully understand the labeling applies to the EU. Doesnt mean people shouldnt be made aware to check and ask about cheese being called vegetarian
luvourmother is offline  
#16 Old 02-28-2012, 04:59 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,430

deleted

Beetlejuice is offline  
#17 Old 02-28-2012, 05:11 AM
Beginner
 
Nishani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digger View Post

I'm eating vegan these days so this doesn't actually apply to me anyway, but even when I was l/o vegetarian I didn't get my blood pressure up over the possibility of rennet in my cheese.

That's because you are in this for your health which is your business. But, the rest of us who care about animals first and foremost, are actually seriously disturbed by the presence of the inner mucosa of the fourth stomach chamber (the abomasum) of slaughtered young, unweaned calves in our food.

m8itcanw8.com
Nishani is offline  
#18 Old 02-29-2012, 05:14 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,587
Its my way of getting more people to avoid cheese, no one should eat it. Yes its a scare tactic.
luvourmother is offline  
#19 Old 02-29-2012, 06:46 AM
Beginner
 
dormouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by RabbitLuvr View Post

So it means SOME parmesan IS vegetarian.




Your title specifically states that Parmesan isn't vegetarian, and your op specifically states to avoid parm, which are not accurate. Your op also specifically mentions EU labelling that does not apply outside of the EU. Whether or not Parmesan is vegetarian, which I was trying to point out by mentioning parmesan that specifically IS vegetarian in my first post, is a completely separate issue from restaurants not knowing if their assorted cheeses are vegetarian or not.

Again, if you moved this thread into the UK forum, then yes, it would be accurate. But people should be informed that the blanket statement "Parmesan is not vegetarian" IS NOT ACCURATE.

It is not necessary for all issues that pertain to the UK to be in that forum. After all, all areas of the board are flooded with strictly US issues. This thread is still useful to non-UK people. Most (or a lot) of parmesan in the US is also made with calf rennet, so luvyourmother's call to be concerned still applies, even if the article explicitly only addresses EU standards. After all, I think some of the parmesan I see at the stores is imported from Italy, which would mean it probably is subject to these requirements.
dormouse is offline  
#20 Old 02-29-2012, 08:02 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,430
deleted
Beetlejuice is offline  
#21 Old 02-29-2012, 08:14 AM
Beginner
 
Digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nishani View Post

That's because you are in this for your health which is your business.

This is true and I don't wish to argue the point, but it sometimes depresses me that on this forum it is often assumed that if you are vegetarian primarily for health reasons that you can't also care about animals. Even if my motives were primarily ethical, from a broad standpoint I would not see the need to fret over trace ingredients if doing so has the potential to discourage others from adopting a vegetarian diet. This is the one and only point that I actually agree with PETA on. I'd love to see people eating less meat period rather than worry so much over by-products. Don't take this the wrong way though, I applaud anyone who strives for purity. I just don't think it necessarily saves more animals on the whole.
Digger is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off