Vegan Necessities? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 07-29-2009, 10:43 AM
Beginner

Hey guys and gals:

I am new at veganism and I was wondering:

What are some things all vegans must have for cooking? I know tofu is one (for protein) and lentils and beans, but what are some others. From spices, to common ingredients? ANYTHING you can think of. It would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

ÂBecause the heart beats under a covering of hair, of fur, feathers, or wings, it is, for that reason, to be of no account? - Jean Paul Richter
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 07-29-2009, 10:53 AM
Beginner

You don't have to eat tofu if you don't like it.

I usually have a cupboard filled with red lentils, wholemeal (egg free) pasta, rice, brown rice is the most nutritious, cans of beans of all kinds including baked beans, flour if I want to make a vegan cake or bread, olive oil and sesame oil. In my fridge I usually have tofu, soya or rice milk, vegan margarine, vegetables and salad vegetables. I always have a jar of vegan mayo. I buy fake meat like hot dogs and burgers and sausages too and sometimes vegan ice cream. Of course lots of fresh fruit and vegetables as well. If you can get a spice rack in your kitchen that is helpful as you can make Chinese or Indian dishes yourself without having to order take aways.
#3 Old 07-29-2009, 11:32 AM
Beginner

I now prefer tempeh to tofu. I think tofu is useful for baking, but I like the texture of tempeh better. =0) So maybe give that a try.

I also just gave nutritional yeast a try which I will be stocking up on.

The basics I always have in stock tend to be:

Vegetable broth bouillon cubes

Raw sugar

Flour

Something for egg replacer (usually unsweetened applesauce)

Frozen veggies

Canned tomatoes

Whole wheat pasta and rice

Whole wheat bread

Some type of milk replacement (I like soy, but enjoy switching it up).

Vegan protein powder (I like hemp)

Tempeh

And too many spices to name :P

Pinterest: AquaLoveBird