Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By soyboat_soyboat
  • 1 Post By Werewolf Girl
  • 1 Post By silva
  • 1 Post By Tom

#1 Old 09-25-2017, 12:07 PM

Talking Hi all! "Flexitegan" here.

Hey guys! I'm a scientist and an outdoorsy girl living in the big city, who has been in and out of the veggie lifestyle for YEARS. The first time I did it, I went vegetarian and I only stuck with it for about a year before I stopped because I didn't feel well. After a year-long break I did it again, for another year, going almost vegan that time, and gave up eventually for the same reasons. This is my third time. I'm hoping that allowing myself the flexibility of having animal products occasionally (aiming for <2x weekly), at least at first, will help me adhere a bit better to the plant-based life. As for going vegetarian as a "stepping stone": I'd prefer to eat chicken over dairy, and I'd put chicken and eggs on the same level of preference since both industries have pretty abhorrent practices. In any case, I rarely eat any of the above, and don't keep any of the above at home.

Curious if anyone else does something similar, if there are any other previously-lapsed-vegans in here, and if anyone wants to be my friend! Still trying to troubleshoot what went wrong with my diet the last time; I'm cooking way more often and a greater variety this time, so hopefully that's the key? Maybe I need an iron supplement? I used to think veganism/mostly-veganism just didn't agree with me physically but I'm hoping that's not the case. Anyways, hello fellow earth-lovers!
Werewolf Girl likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 09-25-2017, 02:16 PM
Super Moderator

Welcome to Veggieboards!

It took me many tries to go vegetarian and then years later it took me many tries to go vegan, I'm definitely not the kind of person who can go 'cold tofurky'