• 1 Post By SteveW
  • 1 Post By silva
  • 1 Post By silva
  • 2 Post By David3
  • 1 Post By LedBoots
  • 1 Post By SitaYunxin

#1 Old 03-05-2016, 11:22 AM

Talking A New Vegan

Hello everyone I am very new to veganism... as most of the people here and I'm kind of concerned here are a few questions:
1: Should I contact my pediatrician and talk to her about my vegan lifestyle to make sure I'll be healthy.

2: What kind of food should I buy? I already bought oranges, apples, watermelon, lettuce, onions, bok choy, and carrots. Is that enough?

3: Do you take supplements?

4: How do you handle meat cravings?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-05-2016, 12:00 PM

Greens are very very important. I recommend kale! 😉

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
#3 Old 03-05-2016, 12:01 PM

If you have meat cravings, make your own. There's a lot of "meat" recipes online. Even vegan cheese and meatloaf!
Good luck!!

#4 Old 03-05-2016, 12:24 PM
Super Moderator

Hello PixelaidPanda!
I would ask what your doctor thinks about veg diets before telling them you're doing it or even thinking about that. Many doctors sadly know little about nutrition, even today, even though just about every health agency endorses them as being as good or better than omnivorous diets

It is very important to know you're getting good nutrition, whatever your diet. A meat egg dairy diet is so 'normal' that most people don't even think about they eat. Once you switch everyone will have something to criticize--don't give that chance. Vegetarian and vegan diets can provide you with everything you need, along with fortified B12-the only one you won't get in an all plant based diet.

Add some beans, lentils, nuts, seeds, whole grains, nut butters, fat free refried beans, salsa, Just Mayo, hummus, tofu, broccoli, cauliflower, peas, peppers, pasta, greens..... maybe non dairy milk?