VeggieBoards banner

I'm new to Chia seeds - Can you please help me out?

1K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Thalassa4 
#1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm new to chia seeds and was hoping you could please help me out.

Where do you all typically buy your chia seeds? (online, local store, etc?) And are there any specifics I should be looking for when choosing which brand to buy?

Thank you! I really appreciate it :)

#2 ·
Hi taylorj9 and welcome!

I buy my chia seeds in bulk from my local Whole Foods Coop. I don't really pay attention to brand names or where they came from, just when they got there (for freshness). I buy black ones and also white ones and have not really noticed much difference in performance between the two.

I have also seen them sold by Bob's Red Mill company and Arrowhead Mills and Hodgson companies prepackaged. If your store has a health food section or organic section you would find these brands there. I have even seem them in gluten free sections. They tend to be WAY more expensive prepackaged. I like to buy bulk when I can because I buy only what I will use in a few weeks to a month.

#3 ·
Hi taylorj9 and welcome!

I buy my chia seeds in bulk from my local Whole Foods Coop. I don't really pay attention to brand names or where they came from, just when they got there (for freshness). I buy black ones and also white ones and have not really noticed much difference in performance between the two.

I have also seen them sold by Bob's Red Mill company and Arrowhead Mills and Hodgson companies prepackaged. If your store has a health food section or organic section you would find these brands there. I have even seem them in gluten free sections. They tend to be WAY more expensive prepackaged. I like to buy bulk when I can because I buy only what I will use in a few weeks to a month.

#6 ·
Hi taylorj9 and welcome!

If there's a Superior market in anyone's near vicinity, they carry bags of chia, flax and quinoa extremely cheap.

#4 ·