Cup size - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By BlackBoxed

#1 Old 03-19-2016, 06:10 AM

Cup size

Hi all, I am new to smoothies and would like to ask a question. When a recipe refers to a cup, fo measuring your greens and fruit etc., what sort of cup do they mean?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-19-2016, 07:05 AM
Veggie Regular

Hi there, it's a US measuring system, where everything is measured by volume.
You can get US measuring cups in the UK in many bigger shops. I think I got mine from a supermarket.
I find them useful for free flowing dry goods, like flour beans, lentils, rice as well of course as liquids. I don't find them at all useful for measuring vegetables though and usually prefer to gauge by eye the volume needed.
#3 Old 03-19-2016, 08:45 AM
Bean Queen

For me it's however much I can fit in my blender before I need more liquid to thin it out.

but off the top of my head it's roughly 240ml, 8oz, or 16tbs. If that helps put it in prospective?
LedBoots and David3 like this.

#4 Old 03-19-2016, 11:59 AM
Super Moderator

With things like smoothies a big handful of greens is about a cup

I just guesstimate things like that
#5 Old 03-19-2016, 02:00 PM
Riot Nrrrd

The easy answer: assuming the recipe was written for a contemporary US audience (and most are), a cup of a non-fluid ingredient means a measuring cup like you'd find in many every day stores, often in sets like this:

Name:  measuringset.jpg
Views: 56
Size:  7.8 KB

For liquids you'll want this:

Name:  oxocup.jpg
Views: 51
Size:  3.8 KB

By 'want this' I mean you'll want that specific design, either OXO Good Grips or a knock off brand. Sure, a different design will work, like the common pyrex measuring cups without the internal markings, but the OXO design is just so much easier to work with ...