Are candy canes vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 12-11-2006, 06:53 PM
Beginner
 
Alli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 685
Does anyone know? I did a search on google but I couldn't find anything... Does it depend on the brand? I got a free candy cane at school, and I don't know whether I should eat it or give it to someone else.



Thanks everyone!
Alli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 12-11-2006, 07:04 PM
Beginner
 
~Wonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,182
They should just be made out of sugar, corn syrup, peppermint oil, FD&C Red 40, and titanium dioxide. All of which should be vegan, although I don't know about the sugar. This is assuming it's your standard issue red/white candy cane and not of the fancy flavored/colored ones. I say eat it.

~Wondre
~Wonder is offline  
#3 Old 12-11-2006, 07:11 PM
Beginner
 
s0ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 997
The two brands I looked at the other day were both vegan.. ;o

Pinterest: AquaLoveBird
s0ad is offline  
#4 Old 12-15-2006, 02:05 PM
Beginner
 
queenfluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 898
You can't be sure that the sugar isn't bone-chared though. But other than that they are usually vegan.



Pure Fun makes vegan candy canes! (i think Bob's might be vegan too).



http://www.purefun.ca/



A store near me sells the Pure Fun candy canes. So I am a happy girl!

(Outpost Natural Foods here in Milwaukee, WI)



You can also buy them at Vegan Essentials web site! (I think they are on backorder right now though)
queenfluff is offline  
#5 Old 12-15-2006, 08:30 PM
Beginner
 
Jennifer89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,172
Eat it. Or, send it to me!
Jennifer89 is offline  
#6 Old 12-17-2006, 04:00 AM
Beginner
 
DMZdogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 791
I thought red 40 was that kind made from beetles?
DMZdogs is offline  
#7 Old 12-21-2006, 01:42 PM
Beginner
 
steinbock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 531
better question... does anyone know of any red/white candy canes that are NOT vegan? (i'm given a bunch of candy canes randomly, so I never know the brand, therefore I can't check...)
steinbock is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off