Vegan Candy Corn? - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 10-06-2006, 06:07 PM
 
Loretta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 97
I really want to find some vegan candy corn! Or at least some that doesn't have egg whites or gelatin.
Loretta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-06-2006, 08:02 PM
 
CountryDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 160
Yummm....sorry, I don't know of any but would love to know if anybody else does. I miss candy corn from my non-vegan days. I'm sure there has to be some brand out there that sells vegan candy corn.
CountryDreamer is offline  
#3 Old 10-06-2006, 08:19 PM
 
*Cringe*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 294
Google says: Well, no vegan stuff, but "Goelitz Confections brand candy corn" is "strict vegetarian-" just beeswax. Made by Jelly Belly and sold at Albertsons.
*Cringe* is offline  
#4 Old 10-09-2006, 03:48 PM
 
berrykat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,203
The vegan holy grail Candy Corn
berrykat is offline  
#5 Old 10-09-2006, 04:26 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Alli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 684
Agh now I'm craving some candy corn.





I didn't even know it wasn't vegan. Halloween won't be much fun this year...
Alli is offline  
#6 Old 10-11-2006, 12:34 PM
 
Katt Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Cringe* View Post

Google says: Well, no vegan stuff, but "Goelitz Confections brand candy corn" is "strict vegetarian-" just beeswax. Made by Jelly Belly and sold at Albertsons.



I'd kill for some... so much so I think I might let the beeswax slide..



I haven't had candy corn in YEARS because every kind I see has egg whites and/or gelatin. It's probably the only thing I actually miss since going vegan. I never heard of Albertson's before, but I did a search and there are apparently a bunch of locations near me. Might have to go on a quick candy corn run tonight....
Katt Fink is offline  
#7 Old 10-11-2006, 07:26 PM
 
berrykat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,203
I know if there was a company making vegan candy corn we could make them rich....I love candy corn.
berrykat is offline  
#8 Old 10-12-2006, 02:47 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Alli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 684
Quote:
I'd kill for some... so much so I think I might let the beeswax slide..



Same here...



It's kind of wierd that there are absolutely no brands making a vegan version with agar-agar or something though.
Alli is offline  
#9 Old 10-17-2006, 01:43 PM
 
berrykat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,203
berrykat is offline  
#10 Old 10-17-2006, 02:33 PM
 
jimcreedsucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 30
yeah. um... i think it is about time our world is ready for some vegan candycorn. aside from egg whites and gelitan, im sure it would taste just as good. id try it out
jimcreedsucks is offline  
#11 Old 10-17-2006, 04:05 PM
 
sunshinegal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by berrykat View Post

http://www.egreetings.com/display.pd...h=8153&c=eg188 the candy corn song



"your candy better not suck!"
sunshinegal is offline  
#12 Old 10-20-2006, 03:30 PM
 
sallyomally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by berrykat View Post

http://www.egreetings.com/display.pd...h=8153&c=eg188 the candy corn song





sallyomally is offline  
#13 Old 10-20-2006, 08:20 PM
 
CharityAJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,606
I was never able to buy any without honey or beeswax... But I can make some.



This recipe is easily made vegan:

http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/rec...orn47836.shtml
CharityAJO is offline  
#14 Old 10-20-2006, 08:39 PM
 
sunshinegal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharityAJO View Post

I was never able to buy any without honey or beeswax... But I can make some.



This recipe is easily made vegan:

http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/rec...orn47836.shtml



What can you replace the milk powder with in the recipe?
sunshinegal is offline  
#15 Old 10-20-2006, 09:23 PM
Dirty Martini is offline  
#16 Old 10-22-2006, 08:28 AM
 
asmith2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
i'm fine with honey or beeswax or something... i just want some candy corn without gelatin or any form of egg or any artificial colors and flavors! is that really so difficult??? i found a bag that was maybe 2 ounces connected to some teddy bear at barnes and nobles last year... and they didn't have any other candy corn... but that was a miracle in itself... yeah but every candy corn has egg albumen, egg white, solid egg something, or gelatin! i loooove candy corn and i can't find any! and the marshmallows i can find aren't that satisfactory... i guess i'm still used to hoofmellows... BUT IF ANYONE COULD FIND ONE WITH HONEY OR BEESWAX OR SOMETHING THAT'S VEGANS SANS BEE WHATEVER THEN I'D BE AN INCREDIBLY HAPPY PERSON IN TIME FOR HALLOWEEN!
asmith2000 is offline  
#17 Old 10-22-2006, 11:15 AM
 
froggythefrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,260
(*whispers*) ASmith2000: Your post is coming across rudely. I am sure it's not intentional.



I am going to try making my own this year. It sounds tedious, but I would have vegan candy corn. I shall report back on this.
froggythefrog is offline  
#18 Old 10-22-2006, 01:54 PM
 
queenfluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 898
I also miss candy corn. I just finished watching "the Secret Life of Halloween" on the Food Channel and they show how to make candy corn. Apparently, the original recipe of candy corn (which started back in 1880's by Goelitz Candy Company which is now Jelly Belly) was just sugar, butter and corn syrup. There wasn't any gelatin, egg whites or beeswax. To get the different colored layers of orange and yellow you just add food colors to the sugar, butter and corn syrup recipe. They would roll into long strips the different colored mixes, side by side, and cut into little triangles. It looked pretty easy.



Unfortunately they didn't give the exact measurements or any other instructions. But I am sure you can find it online somewhere.



But if you don't care about the different colors you can just eat it white (that white tip was always my favorite part anyhow!).



Oh, the bakery that was demonstrating the making of candy corn on the show was Boule in Los Angeles. So, if anyone lives there, maybe they have it for Halloween. I didn't see it for sale on their website.



I am looking for Edwards and Sons Organic Butterscotch candies (it is vegan). Vegan Unlimited used to sell it but they don't have it anymore and I can't find a place to buy it online or at stores. If anyone knows where I can get it, let me know.



queen



(ps. if you are ok with some beeswax, i heard that Jelly Belly's Candy corn, just has beeswax and is otherwise vegan)
queenfluff is offline  
#19 Old 10-25-2006, 11:52 AM
 
libbyloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
I'm pretty sure I found some vegan candy corn today. It's made by Elegant Gourmet and they do have a website. When you go to their website, look under "Halloween Candy" and you'll see it. I'm pretty sure it's vegan because unlike other candy corn it doesn't contain any gelatin, egg whites, beeswax, or glycerine. Also, Jelly Belly makes an almost-vegan candy corn, but it does have beeswax. But the Elegant Gourmet candy corn seems to be 100% vegan, as far as I can tell.
libbyloo is offline  
#20 Old 10-25-2006, 12:38 PM
 
berrykat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,203
http://www.elegantgourmet.com/eg/pro...9&CategoryID=5 I called the contact number and was told the natural waxes were not beeswax, she was unsure about the natural flavors and would not say it was vegan whatever that means. The sugar may be bone-char who knows but I think this is probably as close as one could get to vegan candy corn. Thanx libbyloo
berrykat is offline  
#21 Old 10-27-2006, 05:01 PM
 
berrykat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,203
got some jelly belly candy corn< it has beeswax so isn't vegan> It was good but I ate too much of it. I am good candy cornwise until next year....feeling kinda queasy.
berrykat is offline  
#22 Old 10-27-2006, 06:05 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Alli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 684
I am going to be ordering some of that elegant gourmet stuff... It looks delicious.



Gelatin wouldn't be under natural flavors, would it?
Alli is offline  
#23 Old 10-27-2006, 07:06 PM
 
berrykat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,203
I don't think so, I think they would have to list gelatin as some kinds aren't kosher? also I think muslims avoid foods with gelatin in it as it could be made from pork. I could be wrong but I am preatty sure they have to list it. I wish the Jelly Belly brand didn't have beeswax. I can't call myself Vegan but someday I hope to be.
berrykat is offline  
#24 Old 10-28-2006, 12:54 AM
 
froggythefrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alli View Post

I am going to be ordering some of that elegant gourmet stuff... It looks delicious.



Gelatin wouldn't be under natural flavors, would it?



In the US, no, it wouldn't.
froggythefrog is offline  
#25 Old 10-30-2006, 07:30 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Alli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 684
Ahhh I am definitely ordering some of that.
Alli is offline  
#26 Old 10-31-2006, 09:39 AM
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
I love candy corn! Havn't had it in so long.
GhostUser is offline  
#27 Old 08-19-2007, 07:28 PM
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
unfortunately, confectioner's glaze (found in the Elegant Gourmet candy corn) is a non-vegan (insect) ingredient. Back to the search!
GhostUser is offline  
#28 Old 10-18-2007, 12:48 PM
 
asmith2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
i don't care if it came from any insect... i don't eat insect derivatives that much but i'm not object to eating honey or beeswax in it... i just care if it has eggs, dairy, or artificial flavors and colors... i've looked everywhere i can't find any! has anyone else had any luck?
asmith2000 is offline  
#29 Old 10-18-2007, 12:49 PM
 
asmith2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
oh and no gelatin of course...
asmith2000 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off