Having problems with yoga... - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-20-2005, 12:26 AM
Beginner

I've been doing yoga for about 8 months now. I've mainly learned from a bunch of tapes, but also from magazines and websites. I really enjoy doing the challanges and peace you get from yoga, but as I get into harder moves, something it getting in the way... my boobs!

I have big boobs (36DD) and it's really a pain in the butt. When I do some poses I feel like I'm going to suffocate. Has anyone had this problem? Any advice on what to do, like bras to try or anything?

I'm sorry if this is a dumb thread and if it should be in the women's forum... But please help, because it makes me sad that I can't advance in certain poses because of my chest...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-20-2005, 11:51 AM
Beginner

Hi AshieDawn!

Well, I know a perfect lady to answer this thread since she [I believe] is better endowed than I, and also a yoga teacher fa real whereas I am just a practitioner. zoebird, where art thou?

However, I have heard this complaint before!

The best advice I can offer you, and this goes for all yoga difficulties [arms too short, bellies, bones sticking into floor, etc. etc.] is to

1. acknowledge that yoga is a process and that the poses are not to be "performed"...there are some things that my body just won't do, or at least won't do happily, and my yoga is making peace with that without abandoning progress altogether. It is great that you want to move forward in your practice and I know you can, but remember not to sacrifice your peace in a posture for the "glory of the pose" [Vanda Scaravelli said that and I like it a lot].