• 1 Post By Ad Elie
  • 1 Post By LedBoots
  • 1 Post By Auxin
  • 1 Post By silva
  • 2 Post By TerriNC
  • 1 Post By LedBoots

#1 Old 10-29-2015, 06:59 PM

Pros and Cons of Quitting Caffeine?

I am considering quitting caffeine, and am not sure if it is worth it. I have been drinking coffee regularly for about 8 years. I currently drink 2 cups of coffee per day.

I am curious if anyone else has tried this and what their experience was. I am hesitant to try because I think there are both advantages and disadvantages to drinking coffee/tea. I am also concerned about the headaches and my energy levels during that time.

Has anyone else tried quitting caffeine? How long was the withdrawal? How long did it take for energy levels to return? How bad were the headaches? Is it worth it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-29-2015, 08:55 PM
Super Moderator

I quit for about three months when I was pregnant. My intention was to avoid caffeine for the entire pregnancy, but I couldn't quite make it that long. I was, and still am, a bit of a coffee addict.

I did notice a definite decrease in energy and some pretty awful headaches, but only for about a week after quitting. The physical withdrawal wasn't so bad, certainly much easier than with cigarettes-- but it's very difficult to break the habit. Mornings were unpleasant for the first month or so because I missed the ritual and the comfort of sipping a hot beverage before getting dressed for work. I eventually replaced it with decaffeinated tea, which helped.

If you really want to quit, it's absolutely feasible. Personally, I decided to start drinking it again after my first trimester. At the level you're using it, caffeine is likely doing you no harm. In fact, there is reason to believe that moderate amounts of caffeine can even be slightly beneficial. If you're feeling anxious and jittery, though, or having trouble sleeping-- or if you just don't want to be dependent on it-- then quitting caffeine is totally doable.