Vegan Protein - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-17-2012, 12:02 PM

Hi, everyone.

I'm new to this whole "blog/forum" thing. I actually just activated my account a few minutes ago. Well, I suppose I should introduce myself. I've been veg for 7 years. I'm 22 and I shifted at the age of 15. I do not miss meat, I don't even remember what it tastes like... so when I use my substitutes, it does the trick. I've been doing a lot of research about vegan proteins. I'm leaning more so towards rice protein. No cholesterol, fats, sodium, etc. Soy protein contains up to ~300 g of sodium in one serving ! Then you have to worry about being non-GMO & gluten-free. Eck, no thank-you. Unfortunately, I have read that pea-proteins can cause bone loss over a amount of time. I already have joint issues, so I'd rather not test my luck. Therefore, rice protein it is. I wanted to find one that is non-gmo & also does NOT contain the chemical that causes birth defects & reproductive issues. I really don't think I am not asking for too much. So, please...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-17-2012, 12:26 PM

Are you talking about protein powders?
#3 Old 02-17-2012, 04:56 PM
Vegan Very Metal

Hemp protein, perhaps? What about quinoa and also amaranth?
#4 Old 02-17-2012, 07:37 PM

green leafy veggies.
fresh produce!
#5 Old 02-17-2012, 10:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by penny79 View Post

green leafy veggies.
fresh produce!

Getting protein from whole foods? You're a right loony toon, that's what you are.

But seriously, op, is there a reason you're looking for protein powders rather than just getting it from your diet? Weight training perhaps?
#6 Old 02-19-2012, 01:56 AM

I was gonna suggest hemp if you're doing a protein powder, but honestly I feel those aren't needed. Just eat a varied diet with lots of foods and you'll get enough protein.