Is fun-dip vegan? - VeggieBoards

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 02-14-2009, 11:42 AM
 
Spaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,175
My mom bought me these for valentines day candy (only the green ones I won't eat anything red or purple).



I looked online and can't find anything about whether they are vegan or not?



help!
Spaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 02-14-2009, 11:48 AM
 
born2shoplc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 285
Ingredients: Dextrose, Citric Acid, and less than 2% of: maltodextrin, magnesium stearate, artificial flavors, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake.



found here: http://www.everything2.org/e2node/Fun%2520Dip



I believe magnesium stearate can be fat from animals



Magnesium stearate (B): ester of magnesium & stearic acid



Stearic acid (B): fat from cows, sheep, dogs or cats. Can be obtained from vegetable sources



found here: http://www.veganpeace.com/ingredient...Stearic%20acid
born2shoplc is offline  
#3 Old 02-14-2009, 11:49 AM
 
Spaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by born2shoplc View Post

Ingredients: Dextrose, Citric Acid, and less than 2% of: maltodextrin, magnesium stearate, artificial flavors, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake.



found here: http://www.everything2.org/e2node/Fun%2520Dip



I believe magnesium stearate can be fat from animals



Magnesium stearate (B): ester of magnesium & stearic acid



Stearic acid (B): fat from cows, sheep, dogs or cats. Can be obtained from vegetable sources



found here: http://www.veganpeace.com/ingredient...Stearic%20acid



icky! I guess I will be giving these away! haha
Spaz is offline  
 
#4 Old 02-14-2009, 11:49 AM
 
cstadt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,992
You'd have to email Nestle to find out what type of sugar they use if that's what you're concerned about-- I'm assuming you're talking about the Willy Wonka type fun dip. My boyfriend loves them



But Nestle owns L'Oreal and they test a lot on animals
cstadt is offline  
#5 Old 02-14-2009, 11:53 AM
 
born2shoplc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 285
you could hold onto it and email the company and see if the magnesium stearate comes from animal or vegetable sources. It couldn't hurt to try.
born2shoplc is offline  
#6 Old 02-14-2009, 11:55 AM
 
Spaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,175
yes it's the willy wonka kind I'm talking about.

I'll google around some more & then try to email them. first time emailing a company wow! haha
Spaz is offline  
#7 Old 02-17-2009, 01:11 PM
 
Spaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,175
Dear Ms. Jarsak,



Thank you for contacting Wonka® Lik-m-aid® Fun Dip.

The magnesium stearate found in the Wonka® Lik-m-aid® Fun Dip is plant derived.



We appreciate your interest and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions.



Sincerely,

Sherry Riley

Consumer Response Representative
Spaz is offline  
#8 Old 02-17-2009, 01:19 PM
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 18,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaz View Post

My mom bought me these for valentines day candy (only the green ones I won't eat anything red or purple).



I looked online and can't find anything about whether they are vegan or not?



help!



You won't eat anything that's red or purple??
Brandon is offline  
#9 Old 02-17-2009, 02:31 PM
 
Spaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,175
pretty much, i'm ocd like that
Spaz is offline  
#10 Old 02-17-2009, 02:36 PM
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 18,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaz View Post

pretty much, i'm ocd like that



Wow.



No tomatoes? Red bell peppers? Strawberries? Cherries? Grapes? Eggplant?



I would literally die without tomatoes.
Brandon is offline  
#11 Old 02-17-2009, 02:37 PM
 
Spaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,175
it doesnt really apply to vegetables, candy and popsicals
Spaz is offline  
#12 Old 02-16-2010, 05:10 PM
 
veggiechick17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
i am sorry but i am sO confused, can vegan's eat fun dip or not????
veggiechick17 is offline  
#13 Old 03-14-2010, 11:19 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Purp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon View Post

Wow.



No tomatoes? Red bell peppers? Strawberries? Cherries? Grapes? Eggplant?



I would literally die without tomatoes.



I'll make you a good deal. You can have my tomatoes, and I'll have your chocolate cake.

Anytime I think I'm perfect, I remember that my cousin lives on an island, and I've never walked over to visit her.
Purp is online now  
#14 Old 03-15-2010, 11:01 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Purp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,319
Here's a list of vegan candies, according to PETA.

Anytime I think I'm perfect, I remember that my cousin lives on an island, and I've never walked over to visit her.
Purp is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off