Do all marshmallows contain gelatin? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 02-20-2008, 07:39 PM
Beginner
 
vegchica13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 640
Because rice krispie bars are really yummy. So does anyone know of any marshmallow brands that are vegetarian? Or do they all have gelatin?
vegchica13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 02-20-2008, 07:44 PM
Beginner
 
Jeremy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 699
Pretty sure the only vegetarian marshmellows are specialty ones. Vegansweets, Sweet & Sarah for example, are vegetarian marshmellows. You can find them at places like Whole Foods Market, or you can order them online from veganessentials (use the link on this forum!)
Jeremy is offline  
#3 Old 02-20-2008, 07:47 PM
Beginner
 
vegchica13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 640
Cool thank you!



P.S. Your pit bull is beautiful!
vegchica13 is offline  
#4 Old 02-20-2008, 07:49 PM
Beginner
 
Jeremy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by vegchica13 View Post

Cool thank you!



P.S. Your pit bull is beautiful!



Thank you... He is our big baby
Jeremy is offline  
#5 Old 02-20-2008, 07:50 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,552
there are recipes around that don't use marshmallows. we never used to put marshmallows in them when i made them as a kid in the UK.
jeneticallymodified is offline  
#6 Old 02-20-2008, 08:27 PM
Beginner
 
LucidAnne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,709
all marshmallows (unless specifically for vegans, like sweet and sara) have gelatin to retain their shape.

BUT if you are vegetarian, and not vegan, marshmallow fluff is vegetarian (but contains egg whites, so not vegan)...and since its already maleable, is actually easier to make krispie treats with.



Smuckers marshmallow sundae topping is actually vegan! tho i sometimes find it hard to find.

and yeah, recipes exist out there that use pb, rice syrup, etc etc. not quite the same, but still yummers.
LucidAnne is offline  
#7 Old 02-21-2008, 03:00 AM
Beginner
 
IamJen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,134
You can also make a corn-syrup version. It's a bit different than the traditional treats, but still sweet and sticky.



http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=6559.0

The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
IamJen is offline  
#8 Old 02-21-2008, 04:11 AM
Beginner
 
ficbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucidAnne View Post

all marshmallows (unless specifically for vegans, like sweet and sara) have gelatin to retain their shape.



Not true. Kosher marshmallows do not contain gelatin.
ficbot is offline  
#9 Old 02-21-2008, 05:07 AM
Beginner
 
rabid_child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by ficbot View Post

Not true. Kosher marshmallows do not contain gelatin.



I just googled "Kosher marshmallows" and the hits I came up with say very clearly on the package "MADE WITH FISH GELATIN!"



Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.sunwayco.com/marshmallows2.html View Post

In the late 1990s, odorless fish gelatin was invented in Israel and began appearing in kosher marshmallows and gelatin desserts.



Halal marshamllows, which are also made with fish gelatin, are now made in several Islamic countries and are available at Muslim food stores around the world.


http://megatarian.blogspot.com
rabid_child is offline  
#10 Old 02-21-2008, 07:59 AM
Beginner
 
Beachbnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,876
^ Yeah.... Kosher Gelatin just means it's made with fish. I've looked into this pretty extensively and if it says gelatin, in the US, it's animal based. I've looked and searched and tried to find them... but nothing. If it says gelatin, it's not vegetarian.
Beachbnny is offline  
#11 Old 02-21-2008, 08:04 AM
Beginner
 
vegchica13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 640
Thanks for all the suggestions everyone!
vegchica13 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off