Gellan gum - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 10-07-2003, 05:08 PM
Banned
 
bstutzma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,535
I'm having the darnest time trying to figure out if gellan is derived from animal or vegetable sources. I've found tons of scientific papers referencing it, but of course none of them care if it's of animal origin or not!



I found one page that said it was a product of a bacteria. Does anyone know this to be true, and even if so, if this is a vegan product? (I suppose most vegans will consume soy yogurt cultures, so maybe this is an acceptable food source?)



I'm finding it in some fruit-gel type snacks; they are gelatin free but mention gellan. I won't buy the red ones because they have cochineal (YUCK, bug guts.) Any insights, my lovely veg*n friends??? :-)



bstutzma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-08-2003, 07:34 AM
 
scareyvegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 750
"Most hydrocolloids come from natural sources such as microbial fermentation (xanthan and gellan) or plant extractions (gum arabic, locust bean, guar and pectin). "



"E418 Gellan gum [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Emulsifier] "



it doesnt have an AO after it (animal origin) so it should be vegan



heres the website: http://www.wikipedia.org/wiki/E_number
scareyvegan is offline  
#3 Old 10-08-2003, 08:36 AM
Banned
 
bstutzma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by scareyvegan View Post

"Most hydrocolloids come from natural sources such as microbial fermentation (xanthan and gellan) or plant extractions (gum arabic, locust bean, guar and pectin). "



"E418 Gellan gum [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Emulsifier] "



it doesnt have an AO after it (animal origin) so it should be vegan



heres the website: http://www.wikipedia.org/wiki/E_number



thanks scareyvegan!! hooray for one more thing I can eat! woo hoo!
bstutzma is offline  
#4 Old 10-08-2003, 09:53 AM
 
LadyFaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 7,691
could it be from either plant or animal sources though?

i actually was wondering about gellan myself a little while ago, it's in these really yummy little fruit tarts but i haven't been buying them because of the gellan. if this means i can have them.... *faints*

I'm singin' here to get rid of fear
Hope it disappears right here with the rain
But I know life is pain, not like a fairytale
Meaningless to pray, so just goin' on my way
~Miyavi "Torture"
LadyFaile is offline  
#5 Old 10-08-2003, 11:13 AM
 
scareyvegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 750
it appears that it can Not be derived from animal sources
scareyvegan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off